RSS

Church in the Dark

13 Mar

Image

I had a unique experience this past Sunday.  I’m sure like most people out there unique experiences come less and less often as I get older!  But last Sunday morning I had one!  The church where my family and I are attending had no power on Sunday morning.  The town had a scheduled power outage for the power company to do something with the grid or substations, or whatever; I really don’t know the reason. 

Anyway, the result of this scheduled power outage was that we had church in the dark!  Here we were, a church full of people, sitting in a sanctuary without light, without heat or air (thankfully it was pleasant weather).  It was quite a sight!  However, I must say, to the glory of God, everything seemed to go off without a hitch.  We even had one young man come down during the invitation and professed faith in Christ!  So, praise the Lord!

But, this unique experience got me thinking as I was sitting there, surrounded by my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, listening to the singing and then the preaching by the pastor.  It got me thinking about how many churches, sadly sit Sunday after Sunday in darkness.  How many sit lifeless and dark week after week. 

I’m not trying to judge any church or another.  I have no particular church in mind.  And, I confess, I have been guilty of being lifeless on my more than one occasion.  Yet, I had this feeling that there are congregations out there stuck in darkness.  Perhaps because they have moved away from their first love, maybe they have lost their zeal and passion for the gospel of Christ.  Perhaps they have lost their joy over ministry and missions. 

In short, they have put their candle under a bushel and are not being the beacons Christ called them to be.  We have the light of the glorious gospel of Christ to preach and to share with those who need to hear (and by the way, we all need to hear it, no matter how long we have been Christians or how long we’ve attended church). 

We have been called, by the Light Himself, to be the light of the world.  Am I guilty of rummaging around in the shadows?  Am I guilty of squandering away in the dark?

Again, I don’t contemplate this to judge others or any congregation.  Instead, I think on this in order to pray for them.  I pray they will awaken from their slumber, pull open the shades, and allow the Light to shine in and through them; so they will be a beacon in their world and in their community.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Church in the Dark

  1. lessonsbyheart

    April 23, 2013 at 11:50 am

    That must have been fantastic! Wish I’d been there. I finally figured out that when I see the Light dimmed in others it isn’t so I can judge them, but so I can bring them to the Lord in prayer. It’s so nice to be free of critiquing every one and the accompanying superiority complex I had as a result.

    Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      April 23, 2013 at 12:03 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and the comment. Thanks be to God for the freedom you have found!

       

Leave a Reply

 
