RSS

I am a Whore, a Bastard Child, a Prodigal

24 Apr

hosea-gomer
Artwork by Cody F. Miller (used by permission)

If you could love me as a wife

And for my wedding gift your life

Should that be all I’ll ever need

Or is there more I’m looking for

And should I read between the lines

And look for blessings in disguise

To make me handsome, rich and wise

Is that really what you want

‘Cause I am a whore, I do confess

I put you on just like a wedding dress

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle

Or I’m a prodigal with no way home

I put you on just like a ring of gold

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle to you

So could you love this bastard child

Though I don’t trust you to provide

With one hand in a pot of gold

And with the other in your side

‘Cause I am so easily satisfied

By the call of lovers so less wild

That I would take a little cash

Over your very flesh and blood

‘Cause I am a whore, I do confess

But I put you on just like a wedding dress

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle

Or I’m a prodigal with no way home

But I put you on just like a ring of gold

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle to you

Because money cannot buy

A husband’s jealous eye

When you have knowingly deceived his wife

So I am a whore, I do confess

But I put you on just like a wedding dress

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle

Or I’m a prodigal with no way home

I put you on just like a ring of gold

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle

Or I am a whore, I do confess

But I put you on just like a wedding dress

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle

Or I’m a prodigal with no way home

I put you on just like a ring of gold

And I run down the aisle

I run down the aisle to you

To you

**The above is a song written and performed by Derek Webb (formerly of Caedmon’s Call).**

Why am I so prone to sin? Paul dealt with this dilemma in Romans 7. The Bible teaches us that all we like sheep have gone astray. We could put it another way, all we like Gomer have been unfaithful.

I, like Gomer, am a whore. It is strong language, yes I know. I don’t mean to be offensive. I don’t mean to be rude or crude. But, it is the truth. Perhaps it is most offensive, not because of its vulgarity, but because it hits us squarely on the head. Let me rephrase, it hits me squarely on the head.

Think about it. Think about the gifts and grace we have been given in Christ, by Christ, for Christ and think about how we have treated it lightly. We have scoffed at it. I have treated it lightly. I have treated it as if it were a joke, as if it were inconsequential. I have been a whore for sin and lust and pride and envy and a million other things. I have turned my back on my Lord and Savior and have played the harlot.

I am a worm.

And I do so, often it seems, brazenly. I do it with a cavalier and nonchalant attitude. I do it with a shrug of the shoulders and a wink of the eye. It’s not just that I fail. It’s not just that I sin. It’s that I do it aggressively . . . with purpose and maliciousness against the One who has bought me and saved me.

I am Gomer. I am David eyeing Bathsheba on her rooftop. I am the prodigal son wandering from father and home with a pocketful of inheritance that I wistfully spend on any and every desire I have; until finally, I find myself face down in the muck and the mud.

Would God love such a one as me? Would God forgive one such as this? I am feeble. I am frail. I am prone to wander, how I feel it, prone to leave the God I love.

I cry from the depths. I cry out to the only One who can rescue me, rescue me chiefly from myself. I cry out from the depths, O God, have mercy on me a sinner. O God, forgive my wandering, forgive my wayward heart. Forgive my despicable attitude. Rescue me. Heal me. Change me.

It is a process and I am in the middle of it. Sanctification does not come easy or quickly. Discipline, sacrifice, devotion, submission all are part of its lifestyle. And all those run contrary to my wayward leaning heart. Tame my heart O Lord. Tame me O God, that I may decrease and Christ may increase to your glory and honor, forever and ever, Amen.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1.9)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
