RSS

Rain, Rain . . . Don’t Go Away . . .

28 Apr

Image

 

It’s been raining where I live for the past couple of days.  I must admit, any time I see the forecast and they project rain for the weekend I become a bit of a Scrooge out of season.  Bah-humbug I feel in my spirit.  Rain, rain on the weekend?  Why not on Monday, why be nice and sunny on Monday, but rainy on Saturday?  Mondays seem to be made for rain; at least that’s what the Carpenter’s said!

Or even Wednesday, I mean any day of the week where we must use metathesis to pronounce it, seems like a good candidate for rain and clouds.  It seems to be a misfit enough.  

But, not rain on Saturday and Sunday.  I work Monday-Friday, like many, and I look forward to Saturday.  Saturday that great and glorious day of the week.  Sometimes I find myself living Saturday to Saturday.  Saturday is a day to do, well, really whatever you want to do.  It can be a day of leisure.  A day of straightening up the house.  A day for working in the yard or the garden.  A day to change the oil in the car.  Take the kids to the park.  Have a picnic.  The possibilities are endless!   Because it’s Saturday!  

But rain . . . rain on Saturday?  Well, that just spoils everything.  If it’s going to rain on Saturday, we may as well just skip the whole thing and move right on to Sunday.

And of course Sunday, rain on Sunday is no good either.  All the people dressed to the nines to attend their houses of worship and here comes the rain to mess up the whole affair.  Rain hair isn’t the prettiest thing in the world.  (This is one reason I have a ponytail, you are assured a good hair day no matter what!)

Even now, as I’m looking out the kitchen window and the rain is falling and the sky is gray and gloomy, I must admit, there is a part of me that is thankful for the rain: this rain on this weekend.  Rainy weekend days are a reminder to me to slow down and take a break.  

A reminder that I, as well as earth and soil need to be refreshed and replenished.  Yes, there are still innumerable things I need to do outside around the property.  But, it’s okay.  It can wait.  Maybe rainy weekend days are God’s way of putting the brakes on us.  Telling us to cool our jets and let off the throttle for a bit.  A time to rest and reflect.  After all, there’s no better nap than a nap while it’s raining!   And I should know, I took one earlier!

So, if it’s rainy in your part of the world, maybe it is a gift from God.  A gift to you to slow down and take some time to recharge the batteries.  A time to reflect on God’s provision.  Those rainy days in life are often times the most beneficial to us spiritually.

So thank God, who causes the rain to fall on the just and the unjust.  

Coincidentally, my mother loves rainy days.  She hopes and prays, when she gets to heaven there will be a corner of paradise where it will be rainy and cloudy, for her and others of her ilk!

May he be like rain that falls on the mown grass, like showers that water the earth!  (Ps. 72.6)

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Rain, Rain . . . Don’t Go Away . . .

  1. lessonsbyheart

    April 29, 2013 at 10:10 am

    “Slow down” days are awesome! Glad you enjoyed yours!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      April 29, 2013 at 10:29 am

      I did and it came at a good time. This week is shaping up to be rather busy!

       
  2. Beth Murray

    December 31, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    I read this when it was first written and at that time had not started walking in the morning and finally coming to terms with so many things that I felt were unjust in my world. I had blamed God for a very long time for the deaths of my daddy, mother and especially Ricky. I had allowed the enemy of this world to put me into such a deep depression that there seemed to be no joy in my life. As I started walking and began to ask for God’s forgiveness and for Him to allow me to put all my thoughts of suicide and anger toward Him behind me, I began to realize that He was still right where I had left Him so long ago. I had to say a final goodbye to each family member, with Ricky being the hardest. Today I have come out of that blackest darkness I have ever encountered and even though I still like the dark, dreary days; I no longer want that in Heaven. I have come into the light and God has comforted me in ways that only a person whose heart has been wrenched from them one too many times would understand. You, my son, have witnessed to me in so many ways through this blog, God knew I needed it. Jennifer and Gage are once again a joy for me and it goes without saying that your beautiful Amber and children are precious and make me want to live. Your daddy has been with me through it all, even when he wanted to kill me. You, however have always been my own, and nothing will ever change that for me. I know that God has touched you and is using you to even help me. You’ll never know how much you have been loved in your life by Grandmother Betty, Nanny, Ricky and me. I have sat here all afternoon and started reading your blog from the very first one and your insight into God and Christ are beyond amazing. I might add I have cried and am doing so now. I am bursting with pride of you and your life. We may not be a very touchy family, but if you come in today or even tomorrow, I’m sorry, but I’m going to hug you like I did when you were such a little boy. I knew what I was doing when I told God that I was giving you to His service. What a mighty servant you are.

     
    • Timothy Murray

      December 31, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      I am glad you have found that peace and light, now walk in that peace and light, for the enemy will certainly try to reclaim it. But no darkness or shadow can prevail against the Light of all light.

       
  3. Beth Murray

    December 31, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    I pray every morning not to boast of course, but that God will keep that enemy away from me and all of my family. I pray for Gage’s salvation as well as assurance to be given to your Dad that he might be reassured. I pray for you and your family as well as Jennifer and Gage, but sometime I have to stop and rebuke Satan for he reminds me of things that God has forgiven me. I finally have that peace that passes all understanding. I realize that I am in for a fight daily with the enemy, I pray for steadfastness and your blog is helping me to understand so much. Either way you will be body slammed by me when you enter my house, be prepared and happy about it, that would make me exceedingly happy!! (Thus the reason I want you to blog every day!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
