RSS

Never, No Never (Poem)

05 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/daily-prompt-never/

Tell us about a thing you’ll never write about.

I promised myself, long ago

Though when, I really do not know

That I would not ever, never

No never, no ever, never

Write about it . . . never.

I’m not writing about it now

For I am not sure I know how

But, maybe, just maybe, I would

Yet, alas, I don’t think I should

If, even if, I could.

A promise is a promise you know

One you make somewhere far down below

If it comes out what will stop the rest

Whether it’s the ugliest or best

It is not worth the pest.

I’ll not write about it, no, no way

I will not write about it today

Nor the next, or the day after it

I will not, no not, write about it

It doesn’t deserve it.

I know you wish I’d change my mind

But the words would be hard to find

And even if I did, tell it

What would I then have left?  Not it.

No, I wouldn’t have it.

It would then be yours and God knows whose

I might as well make it front page news.

So, no . . . certainly, mind-made-up not

I’ll not write about it.  Never, not;

Not worth the who or what.

It’s my decision, my very own

And it will stay with me, me alone

It’s too slippery, too much a fuss

To keep it in; yes, I must, I must

Besides, who wants to start a ruckus?

So, no, no . . . for the umpteenth time no

I’ll not write about it: no and no

Though, if I could, I would let you in

It would be a laugher to the end

No . . . I’m sorry my friend.

So, no, my mind is made and that’s enough

I can always write about other stuff.

But it will stay forever just with me

And when I die; it, it shall go with me,

Then of it, I’ll be free.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Never, No Never (Poem)

  1. lessonsbyheart

    June 6, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Very creative! Hey, have you changed your look? I like it. 😉

    \o/

     
    • Timothy Murray

      June 6, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      You mean my gravitar pic? No, it’s the same as it’s been. Still have the ponytail, though I’m not sure you can tell it in the picture.
      I have been doing the daily prompts for creative writing the last several days. It is quite enjoyable.

       
      • lessonsbyheart

        June 6, 2013 at 5:04 pm

        I guess you changed the look of your blog some time back. Old age – scary sometimes! 😉

        \o/

         
    • Timothy Murray

      June 6, 2013 at 4:09 pm

      Or, do you mean the blog? Yes, I changed it. I like the dark brown better.

       
      • lessonsbyheart

        June 6, 2013 at 5:05 pm

        Phew! Not as old as I thought I was!

         
      • Timothy Murray

        June 6, 2013 at 5:23 pm

        Ha . . . took me a second to catch on!

         

Leave a Reply

 
