RSS

An Introvert on the World Wide Web

09 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/daily-prompt-privacy/

How do you manage your online privacy? Are there certain things you won’t post in certain places? Information you’ll never share online? Or do you assume information about you is accessible anyway?

I will keep this post short and sweet.  (I know famous last words!)

I am a private person by nature.  I am very much an introvert.  I am more comfortable in a room surrounded by books than with people.  According to Myers-Briggs, I am an INTJ (Introversion, INtuition, Thinking, Judgment.  I have taken the test at least three or four times and it always comes out with the same result.

However, the last time I took it, the professional who administered it to us (it was a group of incoming seminary students where I finished my graduate degree) explained to us, if you think the test says you are one thing, but you feel it is wrong, it is okay to switch.

So, I will switch.

When it comes to the first three categories, INT, there is no doubt it hits me square on the head.  The way the test works is it scores your answers to questions, showing what sort of personality you have.  Let’s say on the first measure, Introversion or Extroversion, there’s (I’m just making up the number, I don’t remember the exact total) 32 possible points.  I score 32/32 for introversion!  Which means I am helplessly an introvert!

So, when it comes to the INT, I score very highly in all those measures; leaving little doubt that is my personality.

However, when it comes to the last measure (judgment or perception) it is about a 50/50 draw.  Actually, judgment usually wins out by two or three points; but compared to the other three, it is very close.

All this to say, I consider myself, after reading and studying the differences between INTJ’s and INTP’s, an INTP.

I give that as just a bit of background.

Long story short, (I know, too late!), I am a very private person.  I like to exist in my own, little world.  It’s not that I can’t socialize or mingle; it’s just that it takes a lot out of me to do so: it tires me.  And there are times, after being around people for an extended period, I must find a cave somewhere (metaphorically of course) and hide for a while.

My wife likes to refer to this as: Murray time.  (Some of my friends call me by my last name.)

I blog because (the P in me) likes to say something.  It is a catch-22 for me.  Blogging, a public airing of your opinions, thoughts, feelings . . . etc. and being a private, reclusive sort.  I suppose, as I’ve aged, I have learned to step out of my comfort zone more.

I am careful about giving out too many details.  I do try to keep some semblance of privacy, even on the internet (which is probably oxymoronic), but I try.

But, in the end, it is what it is I guess.  If you live in fear you are never going to do much of anything.  So, why not step out and live a little?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “An Introvert on the World Wide Web

Leave a Reply

 
