RSS

Sick in a Dark Room

11 Jun

out-sick-1

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/daily-prompt-take-care/

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

I very much prefer to be alone.  Of course, this is not surprising, since I’m an introvert anyway.  In most scenarios, if the choice is do “X” or be alone, more times than not, I’m choosing the latter!

When it comes to illness, I prefer to be left alone, in the bed, with the room as dark as it possibly can be and not see another living soul until I am well.  The old saying, misery loves company, does not apply to me when I’m sick.

I know some people, even guys, like to be babied and petted.  I always have a mental image of Ferris Bueller (who, of course was faking) with his parents coming in to see him and him smiling and eating it up.  Me?  No.  Leave the door shut and if you hear me moaning or groaning or making any other unpleasant, sickly sounds; then you know I am still alive and keep on walking.

Of course, now that I’m married and have children, this type of “alone-ness” is not always possible.  My girls have a tendency of inserting themselves anywhere at anytime!  And that’s okay too; as long as I’m not so sick I’m worried about being contagious.  Sometimes their attention is better than medicine anyway!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Sick in a Dark Room

  1. Jeremy Reding

    June 16, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Couldn’t agree more Timothy. I have been reading for a couple of weeks off and on, and while I mostly read the Biblical/Spiritual postings, this one looked like one I would enjoy. It was.

     

Leave a Reply

 
