RSS

A Wife’s Wish (Joke)

21 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/daily-prompt-funny/

Tell us a joke! Knock-knock joke, long story with an unexpected punchline, great zinger — all jokes are welcome!

Late one evening, a man and his wife were strolling down the beach, enjoying the sound of the surf and each other’s company.  The wife was looking for seashells as they walked.

As she bent down to pick up one beautiful shell, something just to her right caught her attention.  As she took a closer look, she noticed it was something protruding from the sand.  Going for a closer look, she discovered it was a bottle neck.

She thought it might be a bottle with a message in it.  So she quickly dug the bottle from the sand.  It appeared to her to be an old bottle, but it was very dirty so it was hard to tell.  She showed it to her husband.  She began to use her skirt to wipe the outside of the bottle to get a better look at it.

Suddenly, as she rubbed, a puff of smoke shot out from the bottle and in a flash a robust genie was hovering over her head.  The woman looked up in disbelief.  She looked to her husband, who was standing dumbfounded, staring up at the genie.

The genie looked down at the woman and told her she had but one wish to make.

After some thought she said, I have always wanted to visit Europe, but I am afraid of planes and ships.  I wish you would construct a highway across the Atlantic so we could drive across and I could finally see all those wonderful countries.

The genie rubbed his chin and said, My lady, do you realize what you ask?  Do you realize how much work and material it would take to build such a highway.  Just think of all the rock and gravel and concrete and asphalt.  No my lady, this request is much too hard for even a mighty genie like myself.  Please, I beg you, ask for another wish.

The woman, with some disappointment, thought a little longer.  Then she said, Okay, I have another wish to ask of you.  My husband and I have been married for over thirty years.  I love my husband, but in all the years I have known him he has never once admitted he was wrong.  I would like, at least once before I die, hear my husband admit he was wrong.

The genie again rubbed his chin, looked to the woman and then to her husband, who was still looking dumbfounded by the whole scene.  After several minutes of silence the genie finally responded.

My lady, do you wish for the highway to be a two-lane or four-lane?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “A Wife’s Wish (Joke)

  1. windandlaughter

    June 21, 2013 at 10:31 am

    haha i loved this 😀

     
  2. Dagny

    June 23, 2013 at 7:23 am

    Smart Genie!

     

Leave a Reply

 
