RSS

Do You Hear the People Sing?

27 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/27/daily-prompt-art/

Is there a painting or sculpture you’re drawn to? What does it say to you? Describe the experience. (Or, if art doesn’t speak to you, tell us why.)

I certainly do not claim to be an art aficionado by any means.  I have enjoyed a nice painting or two, a sculpture here or there, but nothing on a grand scale.

I do have one piece of art that I enjoy.  It is a print that I found at an art store a few years ago.  I had them frame it in a nice, complimenting frame.  I do not even know who the artist is .  I bought it because it is a scene from my favorite Broadway play, Les Miserables

It is the scene where the young students, attempting to spur revolution, have taken up arms at the barricade.  Enjolras and Marius and the others are defending their right to freedom.  In the play, of course, most who fight on that barricade die under the gunfire of the soldiers.

In the painting, it shows a valiant Enjolras mounted on the barricade.  The red flag of revolution flying high overhead.  It is a defiance of ideas.  A revolution for freedom and equality.

A shout to the powers-that-be, to quote the sage Twisted Sister, We’re not going to take it anymore!

I’m actually reading the book now.  I’ve been reading it for several months.  The painting is a reminder of the inspiring story found in the book and in the performance.  I have seen the play many times, in many cities (including all the movie versions) and it still makes me emotional.

So, carry on brave souls.  In the words of P. Henry, Give me liberty, or give me death.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Do You Hear the People Sing?

Leave a Reply

 
