RSS

The Call of the Sea

30 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/daily-prompt-nature/

Describe your first memorable experience exploring and spending time in nature. Were you in awe? Or were you not impressed? Would you rather spend time in the forest or the city?

I have touched a bit on this theme already in a couple of other posts.  I will post their links at the bottom of this one.

So as not to rehash what I wrote there, I thought I would write of a separate experience.  I’m not sure if these thoughts come from the first trip or subsequent trips.  I think it is more of a cumulative experience; an experience I have each and every time I visit.

The one place where I feel the wonder and majesty of nature the most is at the beach.  I am not the beach bum type by any stretch of the imagination; however, I do appreciate and am moved by the majesty and power of the sea.

It is an amazing experience, standing on the beach, feet wet in the surf.  I close my eyes and just listen to the sound of the incoming surf, the roar of the swells and the breaking of the waves.

The sea is inspiring.  It is intimidating and frightening.  It is like a rolling, spring thunderstorm traveling hot and fast over the mid-western plain.  When you witness the scene, you realize you are seeing something that dwarves you.

The sound.  The fury.  The power and rage.  The beauty and romance.  The danger and mystery.  This is the call of the sea.  It is the song of the sirens, beautiful and enchanting; yet, fraught with peril and danger.

When I lived in Massachusetts, I lived right on the edge of the northern Atlantic.  I witnessed the sight of nor’easters swelling and boiling on the surface of its depths.  The clash of the surf against the jagged rock cliffs, only a short distance from my door.

There is an enchantment that comes with living that close to the open sea.  It gets in your blood.  You feel it in your heartbeat.  You can understand the tug on men and women who brave the dangers making their livelihood on the waters.  You sense the trepidation left behind them in the hearts and prayers of their loved ones.  You feel something of the sorrow and horror when they do not return again to dry land.

The sea is an amazing maiden.  She is adorned in beauty and nobility.  She is vast and mysterious and attracts the brave and the wanderer alike.  Yet, for all her beauty and amazement, she is a dangerous and fickle lover.  One moment calm and peaceful and the next, vengeful, writhing and deadly.

For me, the sea is a witness to the grandeur and glory of its creator.  Every time I visit its domain, I immediately feel a closeness to God.  It’s almost as if I can hear his voice in the roar of the surf, his spirit in the waft of the breeze.  I sense his power.

In short, I feel humble and small.  And that is not a bad thing.

  Some went down to the sea in ships, doing business on the great waters; they saw the deeds of the Lord, his wondrous works in the deep. For he commanded and raised the stormy wind, which lifted up the waves of the sea.  (Ps. 107.23-25)

Here are the links to the other two posts I promised:

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/the-woods-lovely-dark-and-deep/

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/life-past-present-future/

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Call of the Sea

  1. Cinnwriter

    June 30, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Having never lived by an ocean, it is interesting to hear how people can be drawn to the sea. …and I ‘get it.’ It’s just that is it mountains for me.

     
    • Timothy Murray

      June 30, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Cinn, yes I enjoy mountains too. But, I decided to only pick one! Like I alluded to in the post, thunderstorms have a humbling effect on me as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
