RSS

The Singer

10 Jul

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/daily-prompt-inspiration/

Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.

I can’t ignore

the Spirit-Father’s call

So I will sing it there,

and I will sing it all.

This quotation has been on my mind for the better part of a week now.  It is from the Singer Trilogy written by Calvin Miller.  Dr. Miller passed away almost a year ago now.  I had the great fortune of sitting under his teaching while in seminary.

I had him for two semesters.  He taught my homiletics class.  He was a gifted, warm and inspiring man.  He and I talked privately a few times, even going to eat with one another once or twice.

He, in fact, encouraged me to pursue my interests in writing.  I took this as a great (and humbling) compliment.  If someone as accomplished as he was telling me to “stick with it”, then that is what I should do.  Of course, it took me a few years!

I was saddened to hear of his passing last August.  The seminary had sent an email saying he was undergoing open heart surgery.  Then another followed saying he had come through the surgery and seemed to be in good shape.  Then the final one came, saying he had taken a turn for the worse and had actually died from complications associated with the surgery.

He was 75.  Yet, he seemed so young and full of life.  I found it hard to believe he was really gone.  I regret that I didn’t keep in touch with him more than I did after graduating from seminary.  We emailed each other a few times and I had planned on trying to meet up with him again; but, it never happened.

I guess I’ll just have to wait a little while longer.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Singer

  1. Beth Murray

    July 10, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    It’s always a comfort to have the assurance you will indeed meet up with him again!!! Love your writing, but some would say I am prejudice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
