RSS

Pardon Me Mr. Letterman, But I shall Do a Top Five List

22 Jul

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/daily-prompt-connection/

Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

This is an interesting prompt for me for a couple of reasons.  First, I had never bothered to check the stats on my posts to see which ones had been viewed the most.  I knew the overall stats for daily visitors and such, but never for the posts themselves.  Second, since my family has started following my blog, they have publicized it on their Facebook accounts; so, I’m not sure if that has inflated some of the posts or not.

I decided to look at the top five.  I see a common thread between four of the five, with a connection, at least in my mind, with all of them.  Here are my top five posts (if you have not read them, please do!):

1.  Monsters and Dragons  . . .  Oh My!  https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/monsters-and-dragons-oh-my/

2.  Her Beloved Bo . . .

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/her-beloved-bo/

3.  Of Toilets and Toys

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/of-toilets-and-toys/

4.  Thoughts on an Anniversary and a Birthday

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/thoughts-on-an-anniversary-and-a-birthday/

5.  Epiphany at the Kitchen Table (Short Fiction)

https://meanderedwanderings.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/epiphany-at-the-kitchen-table/

The first four posts are all on personal matters.  Monsters and Toilets are on lessons I learn about myself, my faith and God by observing my daughters.  Several of my posts, in fact, cover this theme.  I have found God has taught me a great deal simply by watching their behaviors.  I think these type of posts can resonate, because they take “everyday” things and see in them the sublime or eternal.

The posts Her Beloved Bo and Thoughts are also on personal subjects.  The first, concerns my maternal grandmother (whom we called Nanny) and grandfather.  He died in October of 1969, five years before I was born.  The second, concerns my wedding anniversary and reflections on my paternal grandmother (whom we called Grandmother Betty).  I was 9 or 10 when she died.

The last one, Epiphany, was a short fiction story I wrote in response to the daily prompt.  I decided to write a story dealing with a woman who was abused by her husband; but, who found the strength to leave the situation.  It too, though purely fictional, is a very personal story.

Having said all this, I suppose I would say the element of personality, the personal touch is what links these posts together.  I’m not saying people find me especially interesting; but, it is a human quality, I think, to be drawn to stories of everyday happenings that give voice to feelings, emotions and the rest.

It is that quality that sees the divine in the mundane.  The sublime in the ordinary.  The eternal in the everyday.  It reminds us to be attentive and observant to what goes on around us and within us.  There is, as they say, more than meets the eye!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Pardon Me Mr. Letterman, But I shall Do a Top Five List

  1. Beth Murray

    July 23, 2013 at 9:14 am

    An exception is made when you are doing a crossword puzzle and children are screaming. This, I believe is what is known as selective hearing. When the children are at either grand parents house, it becomes their duty to see to the children! However…we wouldn’t miss it for the world.

     

Leave a Reply

 
