RSS

How Much Sugar?!

23 Jul

sweettea

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/daily-prompt-dinner/

If a restaurant were to name something after you, what would it be? Describe it. (Bonus points if you give us a recipe!)

It must be said at the outset, I am a Southern guy.  I hail from the southern portion of the United States.  Yes, we get our fair share of taunts and jokes; but, (for those of you from around the globe) we are not all like that!

Having said that, we Southerners know a thing or two about home cooked meals.  We believe in seasoning our food (I’m looking at you New England and Old England!).  Yes, we believe in sugar and salt and grease and lard and . . . well, you get the picture.

Now I know many of you are going to cry out about unhealthy lifestyles and poor nutritional choices.  Yes, I understand.  For the record, I do like good steamed veggies and fresh fruit. I also enjoy fish and baked meats.  So, you can see, it is not all bad!

So, if they were to name something after me what would it be?  I think I will settle on a regular staple of mine:  Southern sweet tea.  I think it should be called something like: Timothy’s terrific ,tongue-tickling, toe-tapping, tasty Tea!  Or perhaps, for simplicity sake, The Seven T’s Tea!

The recipe is an easy one, at least from an ingredients point of view.  Now, for you non-Southerners out there, it will be a difficult one, because you will be battling that little health-conscious angel on your right shoulder while you make the brew.

Here is how it goes.  Boil tea on the stove top.  Once it starts boiling, remove it from the heat, put the lid on top and allow it to steep for a few minutes.

So far, easy enough.  Now the fun part!

In a container, pour in sugar.  We don’t typically do a lot of measuring in this part of the world, we just know when it’s right!  So, I can’t really tell you how many cups to add, you probably wouldn’t want to know anyway!

Basically it goes something like this, add a good bit of sugar to the container.  Now, add a good bit more.  For you non-Southerners out there, you may need to repeat this step a few times to get enough sugar in the container.  Think of it this way, level one:  not enough to be considered Southern sweet tea.  Level two:  sweeter, but still doesn’t cut it.  Level three:  sugar equal to a box of candy bars, now we’re on our way.  Level four:  sugar is piling up, for the non-Southerner it looks like about 6 cups too many, we’re getting closer.  Level five:  sugar is at the point of causing a sweetness-overdose, now we’re just about where we need to be.  Level six:  “I’ve never seen this much sugar in a container in my life!”, now we have probably arrived!

Once enough sugar has been added to the container, pour in the hot tea and add water until desired level.  Mix the ingredients together.  And drink until your heart’s content!

Just a couple of notes.  First, I like lots of lemon in mine.  Second, don’t leave this concoction out over night, it is likely to turn to syrup!

In fact, when I was in grad school, I had a couple of roommates who were not Southern chaps.  When they saw me make my tea, they would laugh and talk about how it looked like molasses!  One day, I challenged them to taste it.  From that point on, every time I made tea, it mysteriously ran out much faster than it ever had before!

So, if you are a brave soul, give the Seven T’s Tea a try.  Who knows, you may become addicted!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “How Much Sugar?!

Leave a Reply

 
