RSS

Remembering When . . .

28 Jul

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/daily-prompt-without/

Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

My life without a computer is not hard for me to imagine . . . I have, as they say, been there and done that.  I know for the younger ones among us, such a time would be hard to imagine.  It would be much like me imagining a time before televisions or in-door plumbing!  

I didn’t have a computer until I was eighteen years old.  It was a graduation gift from my parents.  It was 1993 and the internet was still in its infancy.

The computer was a Tandy from Radio Shack.  I don’t remember all the details now; but, the hard drive was minuscule by today’s standards.  It had the old 5 1/4 floppy drive and a huge monitor.

I remember it had a dial-up modem.  There were message boards you could visit to look at text and pictures and such.  This was the internet for that generation.  Obviously, things have advanced at a hurried pace since then!

My life without computers wasn’t much different I don’t suppose.  True, finding data and facts and miscellaneous information was harder without our old pal Google!  You actually had to look in books or ask someone else . . .  how archaic is that!  (Ah, the memories of those old encyclopedia sets!)

Could I live without computers again?  I’m sure I could.  Would I want to?  No, not really.  I have become attached to them I suppose.  Though, I do think it is good, from time to time, to unplug from the electronics and detox for a bit.  After all, the greatest computer in the world is the one between our ears.

I have an older friend who just got his first computer this past month.  He is in his early sixties and only got one because his employer now requires its employees to make electronic reports.  It has been a bit comical listening to him as he is learning to interact with this new machine.  Even the simplest things (like drawing pictures in Paint) are amazing to him.

He thinks it’s incredible you can actually read the newspaper online!  No more heading out to grab the morning paper.  Just turn on the computer, make a couple of clicks, and there it is, right before his eyes!

He lived sixty plus years without one.  I’m sure if he had to turn it back in tomorrow, his life wouldn’t be impacted all that much.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Remembering When . . .

  1. mollygreye

    July 28, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    I remember saving my drawings I drew on Paint onto my different colored floppy disks when I was 8 years old (’96). Technology is growing faster than kudzu.

     
    • Timothy Murray

      July 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm

      It is amazing how far and fast we have come since those early 90’s!

       

Leave a Reply

 
