RSS

A Case of the Bores

08 Aug

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/daily-prompt-dull/

What bores you?

A former professor of mine said once that he had never experienced boredom.  He said he supposed he knew what it must feel like; however, as for himself, he had never actually felt it.

This is quite a statement.  A statement that differs drastically from my own experience.  I often times find myself bored, if I am not consciously fighting against it. I have always, or at least as long as I can remember, have tried to keep my mind on more than one thing at any given time.  

For example, I read multiple books at once.  I will usually be reading anywhere from two to five books at one time.  Usually the books are very different as well.  So one may be a novel, one a theological treatise, one a history on the Old Testament . . .  etc.  There are times when a book will grab my attention and I will read it through without the distraction of another book.

I also enjoy doing multiple things.  I am a “big picture” type of person.  Details typically bore me.  So, I like to have a few irons in the fire to hold my interest for very long.

I like to think of myself as following in the spirit of a Renaissance man.  No, I’m not saying I am the reincarnation of Da Vinci, but I do enjoy having an aptness for different things.  My mantra has long been perpetual learning.  As long as I’m learning and growing, I can’t complain.

I think this is a benefit our culture has more or less lost.  We tend to specialize.  A man or woman is to do one thing and one thing only.  You can’t be a doctor and a writer.  Or a lawyer and a chemist.

It’s inherent in that old introductory question, What do you do for a living?

I like Eustace Conway’s reply, What do I do for a living?  I live for a living!

A man or woman who is learned in more than one specialty will find there is always something to do.

Of course, there is a flip side to all this.  The I know a little about a lot, but not a lot about anything syndrome.

There is a fine line between the two.  But, I like the adventure of balancing it.  Anything less would be . . . well, boring.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “A Case of the Bores

  1. Cinnwriter

    August 8, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    I like the Renaissance Man thinking. And your post reminded me of something else that bores me…details. Especially economic/financial details. I could have gone on and on about that. “It’s only money.” But I digress. Nice post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
