RSS

A Meandering, Wandering Look at a Piece of Little, Ol’ Moi

14 Aug

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/daily-prompt-reflections/

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

I have always found it easier to express myself through writing than through conversation.  My personality type is prone to this sort of condition.  Why this is the case, I haven’t studied to any depth.  Maybe it’s because writing is more of an impersonal medium than face to face dialogue.  Of course, we all know writing can be extremely personal; but, it is done in a more impersonal setting.  Or, it could be that writing is more thought out and deliberate.  There is time to think and ruminate on what you want to say and how you should say it.  Whereas conversation is more “off the cuff” and free-flowing.

Either way, the fact is writing comes easier to me than does expressing my innermost thoughts in a conversational setting.  I’m not saying I will ever bare my soul completely, even through the written medium; but, I would come closer to it here than anywhere else probably.

The name of the blog is one I have had stuck in my head for a number of years.  I am not sure where it came from or why it appealed to me.  But, it captures my personality, and even thought processes, better than anything else.  I am a wanderer at heart.  Not so much physically, though that is there too, but mentally.  I think in “big picture” concepts, not so much “details”.

Details in fact bore me.  I have lived long enough to know they are needed; but I still don’t care much for them.  I also tend to think (some may say over-think) through a problem or situation.  I naturally see things from a myriad points of view.  I see different angles and slants.  Therefore, I must be deliberate in my decision.  I must carefully weigh the options (which are usually many) to come to the right choice.

Some mistake this for indecision or a lack of interest.  Some think because I have not yet done “this” or “that” it is because I haven’t been thinking about it, or that I don’t care about it.  This simply is not the case.  In fact, I have probably thought about it and through it and on it more than anyone else!

To be fair, indecision can be a problem for me.  It’s not that I don’t care or don’t want to do something, it’s just I need to be sure first.  It may be a case of paralysis by analysis.

I am not a Gen. Patton type.  I don’t just make a decision, jump right in and live with it.  I am more methodical, more deliberate.

As with anything, it has its pros and cons.  Some of these include (I’m not listing which are pros or cons, that may depend on your perspective, or it may be my “big picture” mentality coming out in me again!):  It may appear (or may be) indecisiveness.  I’m less likely to have an abundance of absolutes and “sure-things” that I swear by; in fact, I see and allow for more grey than black and white.  I see the forest and not the trees.  I can see things from different points of view, even views that are very much opposed to my own.  A dislike of details, leaves me being a bit more free than what some are comfortable with.  I am not a dogmatic sort.  I like possibilities more than certainties.  I like freedom over rigidness.  I prefer the old “seat of my pants” way of life over a regimented schedule.  I am more comfortable around books than people.  I am more of a thinker than a doer . . . a man of thought over a man of action.

These are a few.  I’m sure there are many more.

Any who, that’s about it for now.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “A Meandering, Wandering Look at a Piece of Little, Ol’ Moi

  1. linbeth

    August 14, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Interesting… I can think fast and make quick decisions even if they’re not the right ones but they’re right for me at that moment in time. Like you, I am way more comfortable putting things in writing because I can alter what I’ve said by editing. I can’t do that once the words have come out of my mouth. I also prefer to drift through life with flexibility for everything and everyone around me though I do like details. They are the meat on the bones of life. Great article 🙂

     
    • Timothy Murray

      August 14, 2013 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks. Yes, I have always been quick on my feet and witty; but, I do prefer the “comfortableness” of writing over the other. Typically, I am very good at conversation when it involves things other than myself! When the subject turns to me (good or bad) I tend to clam up at that point.

       
      • linbeth

        August 14, 2013 at 3:03 pm

        Are you my twin? I feel exactly the same. I can talk for England about most things, but me… No, not my favourite subject at all. And I, too, like being able to properly construct my point of view or argument so that people understand clearly what I’m getting at, there’s no misunderstandings and I can write emotion so much better than show it.

         
      • Timothy Murray

        August 14, 2013 at 3:21 pm

        If we are twins, someone has some explaining to do! Thanks for the thoughts!

         
  2. Wendell A. Brown

    August 16, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Wonderful message and image!

     

Leave a Reply

 
