RSS

Success!

25 Aug

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/daily-prompt-effort/

What would it take for you to consider yourself a “successful blogger”? Is that something you strive for?

When I first started this thing called blogging, which was only a few months ago, I did not know what to expect. I remember publishing a post or two and waiting for some net-traveler to come zooming through my site, have a read and make an insightful comment.  It soon became apparent that such expectations would have to be tempered.  It felt as if I were one person in thousands at a sporting event, holding my sign up for a roaming camera to capture and place on the jumbo tron.  I saw many signs spotlighted on the big screen; but mine was not one of them.

I remember a few days into the blogging experience, I got an alert that there was a comment.  Finally!  My enthusiasm was soon deflated when I realized it was spam: an advertisement for some sort of age-defying cream or something.  In fact, the first several “comments” I received were spam.  It seemed it would be much harder than I had first thought.

Of course, with a little persistence and patience, I did finally receive an actual, viable comment.  Really, it was at that point that I considered it all to be success enough.  I know for most this will seem rather trivial.  Maybe my expectations were set too low. Maybe I was selling the whole thing short.  I don’t know.  I just know I felt a sense of vindication for undergoing the process when that first comment made its way to my blog.

It meant someone had actually read one of my posts: read something that I had written.  Even more, according to the comment, they actually enjoyed it!  They actually got something out of it!

I have received many more comments since then.  I have since learned of “ping-backs” and all the rest. But nothing seems to trump the satisfaction I received from that very first comment by a living, breathing fellow mortal and blogger.

From here, I don’t know that I have any thing “defined” in my head to “define” success of my blog.  Mainly, I write because I enjoy it.  I write to share of myself, via a media I feel comfortable.  I hope people will read and enjoy and interact with what I post.

For years I wrote, but only for myself.  Now I write and make it public.  I write and make it available for others to read and experience and size up.  Some posts are more personal.  Some are humorous.  Some are all sorts of things.  It is something of a hodgepodge really.  But, that seems to suit me; so, I suppose it is as it should be.

Receiving a high count of “views”, comments, ping-backs . . . etc. are all great; but, when it comes down to it, it really is about the experience as a whole.

I would rather a person read a post and it mean something to them, then to simply, mindlessly hit the “like” button.

I suppose that is what “success” means to me: a post meaning something to someone else.  Besides, all the rest is only statistics.  Writing is about a person, a personality sharing personally to other persons, other personalities (perhaps very different from his/her own) on a personal level to share a spark (of encouragement, or challenge, or inspiration . . . ); to be, if only for a moment, a little less self-centered, reaching out, with extended arms and trembling hands; accepting vulnerability as a reasonable prize for practicing the gift within.

So, to my fellow travelers on the blogosphere, whether you are readers or writers or both, keep posting, keep commenting and keep kindling the spark.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Success!

  1. SW_ysobel

    August 25, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Great blog post ! Sums up most of my own experience with my blog !

     
  2. Beth Murray

    August 26, 2013 at 7:00 am

    You failed to mention that one of the ones who comments to you on here also wants to read your blog daily. Although we are only a few miles away at night and across a pasture during the day, your blog tells me things about you that you never express in speech. Your writing has always been beautiful, and your poems are an insight into your life. I asked a question in Sunday School yesterday and everyone looked at me and said in unison ask Timothy. I will one day, for now I’m trying to research it myself. There is something about me asking for a verse to be explained that just doesn’t sit quite as well with you as it does with other’s who ask. Nevertheless I shall be a joy filler and not a joy killer.

     
  3. lessonsbyheart

    September 4, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Nicely summed up. I agree. That first comment…there’s nothing like it, is there? Especially if it isn’t a family member or friend being kind and supporting us. A Opinionated Man was the first “stranger” to follow my blog. (That’s how much of an impression that first person makes!)

    Blessings!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      September 4, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Hi, good to hear from you again. You’re right. So I take it you were toughened up right from the start!

       
      • lessonsbyheart

        September 4, 2013 at 1:13 pm

        I began my blog in 2009. It took one “brother’s” spoiling for a fight comment to shut me down. He was actually – in that case – my very first. Memorable, um hmm. I didn’t need that kind of garbage.

        OM was my first commentator/follower this time around. It’s a good thing he was so nice or I probably would have quit again! 🙂

        \o/

        PS I had some e-mail from WP issues for a while. I’m still working to get caught up on unread posts. That’s why you haven’t heard from me. Only about 250 to go!

         
      • Timothy Murray

        September 4, 2013 at 1:17 pm

        Well, I’m glad you stuck with it! Yes, I remember seeing a post you made a couple of weeks back about some email issues. Hope you get all those straightened out! God bless!

         

Leave a Reply

 
