RSS

In the Year 2525 . . . Or, How About 2016

28 Sep

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/28/daily-prompt-life/

Our blogs morph over time, as interests shift and life happens. Write a post for your blog — but three years in the future.

Three years into the future, if man is  still alive, what shall we find? It’s crazy for me to think about, because lots will have changed, I’m sure, in our household. 

For one thing, I’ll be on the other side of the forty. You know the side . . . the wrong side! My wife won’t be far from it either! (And no, I shan’t say how far!) My fourteen year old step-daughter be only a few months shy of eighteen and on the verge of graduating high school. My three-year old will be pushing seven, already with a couple of years of school behind her. My youngest will be close to five and close to starting grammar school.

My parents will be on the other side of sixty (yes they are young). My grandfather will be in his early eighties. My sister will still be a pain in the . . . uh, I mean she will be in the midst of her thirties. Probably by then, she will have written a history of pest control in the lower southern regions of the continental United States. My nephew will be a teenager and in high school! I’m sure he’ll be knocking around a few heads in football, working his way toward a full paid scholarship to Auburn. From there, maybe, the NFL. And I’m sure then, he will remember his loving, dear uncle!

It seems the moral of this story, at least as I have painted it, is we will all be older. Wiser? I guess we shall wait and see on that one. Time may heal wounds, but I’m not sure it works miracles!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “In the Year 2525 . . . Or, How About 2016

  1. Jill

    September 28, 2013 at 9:40 am

    “Time may heal wounds, but I’m not sure it works miracles!”

    Love the closing line!

     
  2. Beth Murray

    September 28, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    I will not be in my early 60’s I will BE 60. Let’s not put any more years on me than is necessary. How time flies, when you get my age it really does seem as if your mind thinks you can still do the same things you used to, but then the body disagrees!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
