RSS

Enquiring Minds Want to Know . . .

12 Nov

Image

Photo from nydailynews

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/daily-prompt-favorite/

On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses? (The questions are listed after the jump)

1. What is your favorite word?

My favorite word? Coming up with a favorite anything has always been difficult for me. At the moment, I would say my favorite word is aver. Why? I suppose because it is small, but is rather tenacious in its definition. It’s not the most pleasant word to the ears; but it gets the job done!

2. What is your least favorite word?

I would have to say there are two words in a dead-locked tie on this one. It’s not that I despise the words themselves; but rather, I think they are habitually overused. Those two words are plethora and surreal. Good words, but the plethora use of these words borders on the surreal!

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

The answer to all three really would be writing and teaching. I love learning. I love to study and ponder. These two endeavors allow me to do that and then allow me to share what I have learned with others. The pursuit of knowledge, and even more, wisdom is a thirst I have had for many years.

4. What turns you off?

Bad breath? Seriously, I would say a critical spirit, prejudice and stupidity. I know the last word is a bit strong, but I don’t mean by it ignorance. We are all ignorant of things, simply because we don’t know. But, ignorance can be taught, we can learn that which we do not know. Stupidity on the other hand, (if there is a better word for it let me know), is an unwillingness to grow and learn. It is defiant stubbornness, a prideful arrogance of one’s self-centered existence. I do not understand such a position.

5. What is your favorite curse word?

Why it is obviously @#%#@*%!@#%$*.

6. What sound or noise do you love?

This time of year, it is the sound of the breeze dancing through the fallen, autumn leaves.

7. What sound or noise do you hate?

Alarm clocks.

8. What profession, other than your own, would you like to attempt?

Writer.

9. What profession would you not like to do?

Anything involving the sewer.

10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Welcome home.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Enquiring Minds Want to Know . . .

Leave a Reply

 
