RSS

The Enticement of Luxury

29 Nov

Image

Photo by missymax from Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/daily-prompt-jones/

Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.

This prompt may prove too difficult for me to accomplish. The problem is I’m not much of a luxury kind of guy. My definition of luxury would be a nice quiet room, a hot cup of tea and a good book. Or, perhaps sitting in my garage on a nice fall or spring evening listening to a Bob Dylan vinyl.

Or the luxury of being at home with my wife and kids. Everyone healthy and happy and full of life.

There are not many luxuries I even think about to be honest. From time to time I may splurge on a good quality cigar. I may purchase a nice, well-fitting sports jacket.

The truth is, I do not have anything in mind that I would buy if I could afford it. So, let me see, a swimming pool? Nope. A high-priced vehicle? Nah. A huge mansion with a room for every day of the year? No. A rare expensive sculpture? I’ll pass.

Hmm, this is proving to be a bit difficult. This whole thinking as you write usually works a little better for me!

I don’t know, I really don’t. I’m stumped.

Ah, maybe my luxury item would be a nice quiet (there’s those words again!) villa in the countryside of Italy. I’ve never been to Italy, but I think it would become me. Or, maybe even better, a nice quiet (I couldn’t help it!) cottage in the countryside of England. There I could roam the grounds and be enchanted by the haunts of the old English masters and authors.

It could be my own little Kilns. And I could have a nickname like Jack. And learn to speak in a loud, booming, commanding English accented voice. And meet with a group of fellow writers and thinkers at a little pub in the town and we could call our group some cool nickname like the Inklings. And its name would be The Eagle and Child (been there by the way!) and we would call it some cool nickname like, The Bird and Baby. And I could pen some modern-day masterpiece like LOTR or Narnia and I could rival J. K. Rowling and have more money than a few third-world nations combined. And then I could go on celebrity tours, autographing my fictional works and fielding questions from my adoring masses. Then Disneyland would call and want to develop a portion of their park after the characters in my monumental, best-selling work. And, of course, Hollywood would call and I would sign a 15 installment contract that would produce a number one hit every other year. And then . . .

Well, you see what happens when one starts giving in to the worldly vices like luxury and fame. It has a way of going straight to one’s head, inflating it by exponential proportions and causing one to feel wholly dissatisfied with their actual lot in life.

Don’t get me wrong, I see nothing wrong with dreaming . . . as one of my favorite movies from the 80’s says, the world needs dreamers . . . I see nothing wrong with aspirations or hopes; but, there is a balance.

Contentment seems to be a lost art in our world today. People always want more or better or newer. We want to be anything other than what we are. There is no quietness within us. We wrestle and rage within and wonder why we are not happy.

It’s like the old country song says, looking for love in all the wrong places . . . we are looking for happiness in all the wrong places. There are certain places where happiness cannot be found. There are certain things that cannot afford us happiness, because that is not their design or purpose. Unfortunately, many times we forget this and search in vain for it; like searching for a cool, refreshing drink of water in the middle of the desert. The desert may be a splendid place for some things, but water isn’t one of them.

I don’t have an issue with luxuries per se, but there is a strong pull to become infatuated by them. And, if one is not careful, they will consume us and lead us to be unthankful, wraith-like creatures. Souls merely existing, floating in an expanse of greed and idols, miles away from safe harbor.

There is a reason the Bible warns against greed and money. It is an alluring mistress, with fresh perfume, dressed to the nines. She stands and waves flirtatiously to those who pass by her door. For those who dare stop, she leans in and whispers seductively in their ear. Saying all those naughty, tantalizing things one’s spouse and friends never say to them. Then she invites him in and the pit engulfs them. Only heaven can save him now.

So, dream and hope and have aspirations and goals; but I pray they will be more on the betterment of the person than on the acquisition of possessions.

That’s my two cents, share yours if you would like.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2013 in Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Enticement of Luxury

Leave a Reply

 
