RSS

A Slice of Humble Pie

30 Nov

Image

Photo by Ladyheart from Morgue File

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/30/prompt-humble-pie/

Tell us about a time you found out after the fact that you’d been mistaken and you had to eat a serving of humble pie.

As a sports fan, I have made my fair share of predictions over the years. Most of which have not turned out the way I predicted! I suppose I could follow the logic of: Hey, I made the right pick, but I can’t pick em’, play em’ and win em’! I could also follow the logic of saying I got bad intel or that I misinterpreted the stats.

Clairvoyance is obviously not one of my talents!

In college football, today is known as Rivalry Saturday. Across the nation teams are playing their biggest and staunchest rivals. A lot of predictions have been made. Prognostications have been prognosticated. Opinions have been opined. In the end, none of it really matters. The players and coaches will determine who wins or loses the games.

My favorite college football team is Auburn. Today we play our long and bitter rival Alabama. The game has been called for many years the Iron Bowl. It is not easy to explain or describe the intensity of this game to those who have not grown up in the state of Alabama. The rivalry has led to divorces, fights, deaths and the poisoning of trees. And that’s just off the top of my head!

There is no love loss between the teams or the fans. You either shout War Eagle! or Roll Tide! and you bleed that school’s colors.

The game this year is played in Auburn. There is a church in the area which had a catchy sign on its marquee this week. It says something like this: Sunday’s Message . . . Humility . . . We Will Either Need It or Have It! I thought that was pretty clever!

Humility is not easy for the race called human. We tend to puff out our chests, inflate our heads and bloat our pride.

Humility is the one thing if you have it and know it, you no longer have it!

Humble pie is not the easiest meal to swallow, but it is often the most nutritious for our souls.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2013 in Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Slice of Humble Pie

Leave a Reply

 
