RSS

Tatted Up!

01 Dec

Image

Photo by Earl53 on Morgue File

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/prompt-tattoo/

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

No, I do not have a tattoo. I have never desired to have one. Why? First, I hear it hurts like the dickens. I don’t fear pain per se, but I don’t go running toward it either. Second, I have always had this picture of me when I’m in my sixties, skin more wrinkled and there would be this tattoo; it once looked like something, but now it would look like a big smudge. Third, I don’t think I have ever felt so passionately about something I wanted it emblazoned on my skin permanently. This brings to mind Mr. Depp and his Winona tat, that he cleverly (maybe!) changed to Wino after their breakup . . . ingenious!

I really cannot think of anything I would want stamped on my skin. Sure, I am a sports fan (see yesterday’s post) and I could get a nice tat of Auburn, or the Steelers or the Red Sox. But, I think I would just as soon wear a tee or a hat maybe to display my team loyalty. I see no reason to mutilate my body in the name of a sport.

Now, I want to be clear. I don’t particularly see anything wrong with a person having a tattoo. I do think some take it to an extreme (I’m looking at you Kat Von D!); but hey, if she likes it, who am I to judge?

Some Christians will argue that tattoos are inherently evil or misguided. They will argue since our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit, we shouldn’t be getting advertisements posted on it. I understand the argument and I think some prudence may be found in it. But, again, in principle, I really don’t have a problem with it. I suppose it would depend on the nature or message of the tattoo.

I have seen some of the tattooing mistakes. You know, where a word or two are misspelled. Ouch! Actually, double ouch! That would have to be embarrassing. Or the tattoos some get that are in a different language that the person does not speak or has not studied. They just think the lettering or design looks cool and that the saying (or at least what they are told it means!) is a clever one or a meaningful one.

But what if the tattoo-er tells the tattoo-ee that these cryptic symbols mean something like life, love and happiness, but, in actuality they mean something like: I ate bad fish! I guess you could just hope to never run into anyone who actually could translate the tat. Or just hope for age and plenty of wrinkles, so that the message will become all jumbled and distorted and look like one big blob of faded, jumbled ink!

Maybe people should get tattoos to tell the story behind the story. Such as, I got this tattoo because my parents hate tats. Or, I have the name Johnny on my arm to get back at my boyfriend Danny. Or, I got this tat when I was three sheets in the wind and the truth is, I have no idea what it says or what it means.

I don’t know . . . that could be pretty cool.

But in the end, I don’t really care if a person has one or not. I don’t plan on getting one myself; but, who knows, never say never I guess!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Tatted Up!

Leave a Reply

 
