RSS

For the Love of Silence

09 Dec

Image

Photo by Noboru on Morgue File

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/source-of-anxiety/

Write about a noise — or even a silence — that won’t go away. (We’ll let you interpret this in different ways…)

I don’t much care for, what I call, clutter noise. I have never been one to have something on just for the sake of the noise. I know people who will turn the TV on as soon as they walk into the house, not because there is something on they want to watch, but to have the noise in the background.

It seems to me that many people are afraid of silence.

I must issue a disclaimer . . . I am not afraid of silence. I can state it clearer even: I like silence. 

I do not view silence as something to avoid; in fact, I usually seek it out. I am not sure why people do not like a little peace and quiet. It has never made much sense to me. Are they afraid of being left alone, uninterrupted with their thoughts? Are they afraid that there is some blood sucking monster that only manifests itself in quiet places?

I do not know.

I think, as a culture, we have become accustomed to noise. Some noise is unavoidable. But, we have so embraced it that we feel as though it is a necessity of life. We have shelter, food, clothing and noise!

It is as if we do not have constant noise we cannot function. It is like caffeine to our nerves. If we do not have the noise we suffer withdrawal: we shake and become moody and feverish.

I encourage people to turn off the electronics from time to time and just sit and relax in the still, calming quiet. It is a great way to clear your mind, to de-clutter your thoughts and anxieties.

It would also be beneficial in practicing logic. I am fearful we have also become accustomed to other people (talking heads and the like) thinking for us. All we do is turn on the TV or radio, hear what our favorite “expert” has to say on this or that, and we adopt the reasoning as our own and then spout it to any and everyone who will listen.

We have forgotten the skill of thinking for ourselves. We have forgotten how to gather facts and data and then think through them to come to a reasonable conclusion, forming an informed opinion on a subject.

I know, some will say, Ah, that’s too hard. I would just soon be spoon fed my opinions. And hey, if they turn out to be wrong, I can always blame that talking head for misleading me!

There are many times when I will sit at home, (if the family is away), in complete beautiful silence. I do not turn on the TV. I sit and I think. Or I read. Or I meditate and pray.

I think there is a good reason the psalmist said, Be still and know that I am God.

Part of being still is being quiet. It is not only being still physically, though it includes that, but being still within. Being still emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

Too often we are like a tempest-tossed sea, raging and monstrous, full of energy and violence, reacting and overreacting to what comes our way.

What we need are the words of Christ, Peace, be still. We are the storm that needs to be calmed. We are the wind-swept sea that needs to rest in a state of placidity. We are the raging monster that needs to find the value and health of peace.

We need Christ’s miraculous words to be spoken into our heart and soul.

Noise has a tendency to clutter our thoughts. This clutter noise prevents us from plunging the depths of our thoughts and becoming more mature and better people.

So, from time to time, turn off the talking heads, let the TV fade to black and find yourself in silence. It may be scary for a bit, but there is treasure to be mined in those hills!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “For the Love of Silence

  1. Beth Murray

    December 9, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    I’m sorry, I promised to be quiet while you ate your lunch and did the crossword puzzle, but you know me I have a compulsion to talk, most especially to you. If I am not talking usually I’m one of two things: 1. Depressed 2. Asleep or perhaps dead. You are an observer and therefore silent the majority of the time. I, too have those days that I long for silence, but since your dad has retired they are not easily found. In the midst of your 4 year olds birthday party there you sat ….. alone.

     

Leave a Reply

 
