RSS

To Veal or Not to Veal, That is the Question . . .

10 Dec

Image

Photo from foodfrthought on blogspot

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/out-of-your-reach/

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

I honestly cannot remember any toy that I ever wanted but did not get. I’m not saying I always got everything I wanted, I’m sure I did not. But, I do not remember anything that I so wanted, and did not get, that it has stuck in my memory. In fact, if I were to list the things I wanted and actually received, I may come across as a spoiled brat! And who wants that!

The only thing I can remember, which would come close to this, was a meal I requested when I was a teenager. I do not remember how old I was, but I think it was for one of my birthdays. I asked my mother to cook me a special meal. The meal I requested was veal parmigiana. Now, if you are Italian perhaps, this may not be out of the ordinary.

However, we are not Italian. A meal down our wheelhouse would be fried chicken, pork chops, grilled steaks, country fried steak . . . you know, good Southern cuisine! Veal parmigiana does not fall into that category!

Needless to say, I did not get my requested meal. I do not remember what we ate instead, but I do remember it was not veal parmigiana!

My mother was going to make-up for this great slight (kidding!) and cook it for me for my last birthday, but she found that finding veal in our neck of the woods is not easy to do. She went to a meat market or two and neither had it. In fact, at one of them, one of the people working there did not seem to know exactly what veal was!

She got it close though, instead we ate chicken parmigiana. I guess my veal will have to wait for another day!

Fortunately, I have not been completely deprived. I have eaten veal parmigiana many times at different restaurants. But, that home cooked veal parmigiana meal has proven to be wryly and elusive!

Who knows, maybe next year I will be treated with veal . . . and my quest will be complete!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “To Veal or Not to Veal, That is the Question . . .

  1. Beth Murray

    December 11, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Hope springs eternal!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
