RSS

Up, Up and Away!

13 Dec

Image

Photo by muyral on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/daily-prompt-daring-do/

Tell us about the time you rescued someone else (person or animal) from a dangerous situation. What happened? How did you prevail?

There was this one time, many years ago, I happened to be in a big city in the US and I was walking along minding my own business. Suddenly, I heard the screams of a woman; panicked screams, yet it was hard for me to tell where they were coming from. I looked around me and saw no one in distress. Again I heard the cries. I turned around, thinking perhaps I had missed her, then I noticed one or two fellow side-walkers looking up, pointing and gasping. As I craned my neck upward I saw her . . . she was dangling in mid-air several stories up, fingertips away from certain doom. Above her was a helicopter teetering on the edge of the building, with just one stiff wind it would hurl to the streets below.

I knew I had to act. I knew I had to do something. I looked around me, by now a large crowd had gathered, watching the terrifying scene, unable to look away. I bolted for a phone booth, only to find they were now extinct! I hurried and found an alley way, I quickly ripped open my shirt, threw off my pants revealing a costume underneath. With one bound I leapt into the air, soared faster and faster above the streets and spectators below and just when I reached the terror-stricken woman, the helicopter jerked with a jolt and began to plummet.

My instincts kicked in and I grabbed the lady in midair, assuring her I had her safe and sound. I then grabbed the falling copter with one hand and saved the day . . . oh no, wait, that wasn’t me that was Superman! Drats!

Well, okay, there was this other time when I was out late at night and I was returning to my hotel, when suddenly a purple car passed me, stopped abruptly in front of me and a man exited with a white face and a giant, red smile painted across his face. I quickly reached for my utility belt and pulled out a  . . . oh, wait, ha what do you know, that wasn’t me either, that was Batman!

Hmm, this doesn’t seem to be going so well!

While I would love to claim some heroic feat, in all honesty, I cannot think of a single one! Although, I did move some garbage cans out of a road once to prevent people from hitting them and wrecking their vehicles. Is that heroic? You can read about it here.

But, that’s about all that’s coming to mind at the moment. Maybe I have done more heroic things but just can’t remember them at the moment.

The truth is, being a hero often times is less spectacular than the comic books and movies would have us believe. Oh sure, sometimes a person is put in a situation, life and death, and saves the day. It does happen. But, more times than not, the heroic deeds are performed on a less grand level, at least from our point of view.

Who’s to say, maybe, just maybe, they are more heroic. After all, there are many attention seekers and grabbers who would love to save the day while everyone is watching and the cameras are rolling. Thinking of the CNN interviews and million dollar book offers and a sit-down-on-the-couch one on one with Oprah.

But what about when no one is watching? What about when it isn’t spectacular or dramatic? What about when it isn’t a great feat of strength or courage?

What about when it is about being supportive or committed or faithful? What about when it is about being there when no one else is willing to be there? Being a friend to the one no one else likes? Being supportive to the one who has made another in a long list of mistakes? Showing love and grace to the one who never returns it?

I have been rescued myself. I was rescued many years ago by Christ. He, my Hero, came and lived and died and rose again to rescue me and all who will believe in him. He paid the price for my sin. He died my death. He won the victory for me; something I would never have been able to do. He rescued me from sin and death.

Christ is the true hero. Anything I may do is only a refection of his great act.

I have shared this good news with others. I have witnessed to those who did not believe. It has been my privilege to lead others to Christ, so they too can experience his rescue, his salvation. Was that heroic of me? I don’t think of it that way. Besides, I wasn’t the one who really did the saving, it was Christ and is always Christ.

As a kid I dreamt of being Superman or Batman. I would wear the towel or sheet on my back and pretend I was the superhero. I would defeat the bad guys and save the day, rescuing the world from certain and utter doom.

I will probably never get to live that out in real life. But, even still, I can do my part. I can show forth the love and grace of Christ through my words and actions. I can display the humility of Christ in my temperament and attitudes. As I’ve grown older, I now realize this is of greater benefit. This is the greater prize.

Sure, it would be great to fly the skies with Superman. It would be cool to sit in the Bat Cave and talk things over with Batman. It would be a daredevil of a time to hop building to building on the web strings of Spiderman.

But, as great as all that would be, I have met and know One far greater. For he saved me, not only from physical peril or some life and death situation . . . no, he saved me from something far greater than that . . . he saved me from myself. He saved me from my sin.

And he would do the same for you too.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2013 in Daily Prompt, Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
