RSS

Almost . . . But Not Quite

17 Dec

Image

Photo by o0o0xmods0o0o on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/prompt-skin/

Share a time when you narrowly avoided disaster.

Okay, much like the prompt a couple of days ago, I’m not sure I have led an exciting enough life to qualify for this prompt. That said, I am sure I have had several close calls of which I am not aware. In such cases it has been only God’s grace that has spared me. There have been some things that have happened in my life where danger was present; however, I am not sure I narrowly avoided disaster. I do not want to dramatize such happenings, knowing many have faced far greater perils than I.

Off the top of my head, there was a time when I crossed a railroad track not knowing a locomotive was far closer to the crossing than I realized. It was one of those crossings, one can find on smaller roads in the south, that had no crossing guard. I was probably nineteen or twenty at the time. I was driving a 93′ Camaro. I saw the train, but I thought it was a greater distance away than it really was. As I flew across the track I realized I had misjudged the distance. I am not going to say it was only a few feet from me, as if I missed death by the skin of my teeth; but, it was too close for comfort!

The only other event that comes to mind is when a EF-4 tornado ripped through the town I was living in at the time. I was serving as a student minister in a Baptist church in the town. It was Sunday night and we knew there was a threat of severe weather. But, if you live in the southern USA that is not anything new for the spring of the year. The pastor had just finished his sermon when the siren sounded. We exited the sanctuary and gathered in the basement of the church.

We were there maybe ten or fifteen minutes without much happening. A few people had gathered at the outer door to peer outside to see if they could see anything. At that moment, the pastor asked a man to pray and everyone huddled together in the narrow hallway for prayer. No sooner had he finished praying and we heard the roar of the wind. Almost instantaneously, the outer door (where the people had been standing only moments before) suddenly flew open (though it was locked) and debris flew in. You could hear the swirl of the wind and within seconds the door slammed shut.

The tornado did not actually touch down in town, but it still wrecked havoc. Trees were uprooted. The middle school was all but destroyed. A few homes were damaged. In a neighboring town, I believe there were some fatalities.

I remember going out after it passed. The sky was a strange purplish black. There was an eerie silence and stillness all around.

I suppose that would be my “death-defying” accounts. Nothing like what most would have to tell; but, it’s all I have!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
