RSS

I Loathe You!!! (Not Really!)

18 Dec

Image

Photo by wintersixfour on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/prompt-mr-grinch/

What is your least favorite personal quality in others? Extra points for sharing your least favorite personal quality in yourself.

Don’t get me started!

But seriously, I suppose there are several things I could list for this prompt. I could pinpoint certain traits people have and wax eloquently about why they annoy me. I could give examples and names (made up ones of course to protect the guilty!). I could give logical reasons why anyone should be annoyed by such behavior. I could make a strong case for my point of view. But, would it be fair? Probably not.

There are things that people do and say that perturb me, no doubt. There are also things I do and say that perturb others, no doubt. Even more, there are things I do and say that perturb me, absolutely no doubt!

It is no wonder I cannot get along with others all the time . . . I cannot get along with myself that much either!

I feel like I have stated this in my posts quite often recently, but I will restate it here: I am an introvert. Now, I am not necessarily bragging about this fact (though introverts are the coolest people on the planet!), I am merely stating it to quantify my opinions. If you are an introvert, or you know an introvert well (if that is possible!) then you know what I mean. If you are one of those extra-whatevers! you will have no idea what I am talking about! It may sound to you that I am discussing some sort of alien life form.

As an introvert, I will go ahead and remove one common misconception, it does not mean I am anti-social or that I dislike people. Are there times when I am anti-social? Yes. But, in those times, that may have less to do with me being introverted and more to do with me being a grouch; or, to keep with the theme of the season, a grinch!

As an introvert, I can socialize with others, shock! The difference for introverts in socializing is that it may take us a while to get warmed up. It may be we will not be as gregarious as others. No matter, one thing is for certain, socializing will wear us out! It takes great energy (emotionally, physically, mentally) to ramp myself up and socialize within a group. I may pull it off, but it will drain me.

You see, an introvert is like a battery, there is only so much charge in the cells. Once the charge is depleted, it is time to withdraw and recharge. If I am not allowed to recharge then the real grinch comes out! Case in point, I remember once a few years ago, I was surrounded by a group of people for a longer period of time than I was accustomed. I had a lot going on in my life at the time, with some added stress built into the equation. Long story short, I was not able to recharge my introvert battery. I could feel the anxiety mounting within me. I knew I was at the breaking point. So, I slipped off into a vacant room, put my head in my hands and tried to breathe as slowly and calmly as I could. All the while, I had started shaking nervously. I could not stop. I had reached critical mass!

Thankfully, the panic subsided and I was able to rejoin the happy throng.

Why am I telling you all this in relation to the above prompt? Good question? I am glad I have such astute and attentive readers! First, to be transparent, I am not comfortable writing on the subject of the prompt; so, this is my way of answering in a round about sort of way. Second, it is to say that if I did write on the theme of today’s prompt there would be so much I could say it would be a terrible thing. I would do an injustice to some very good, caring people.

I will reiterate what I said at the beginning: yes, there are things people do that annoy me. Do I have one particular trait in mind? No. They are varied and different depending on mood, setting and my overall disposition at that moment. But, there are things I do that annoy me too. So, I do not think it fair to harp on others. It is like Jesus said, don’t worry about the splinter in your neighbor’s eye until you remove the log from your own! Good advice!

So, you are free to keep your splinters! I will slunk back into my introverted cave and ponder those things that only introverts ponder. I will leave the personal criticism to others!

The most important thing is to be who God created you to be. Yes, you should grow and mature and develop as a person. You should seek God’s help to shore up your weaknesses and build upon your strengths. You should wish to daily become a better person. But, God created you to be you, not me or anyone else. We must be content in the skins that God has given us. If we would find this contentment, we may also find we are happier with, not only ourselves, but others as well. Why? Because we will give them the same freedom we have found for ourselves . . . we will allow them to be who God created them to be.

That would not be such a bad world, I don’t think.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I Loathe You!!! (Not Really!)

  1. unsolicitedtidbits

    December 18, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Cheers to introverts 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
