RSS

Christ: My All in All

22 Dec

Image

Photo by andrebog on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/prompt-number-one/

Who is the most important person in your life? Describe that person in as great a detail as you can muster and most importantly, tell us why you cherish this person.

The narcissist in me would answer ME! After all, without me this question would not apply to me at all. There has to be a me for anyone to be able to interact with me. There has to be a me for me to hold anyone in any importance. It then should be recognized by anyone who knows me that the answer very simply has to be me!

I’m sure the same would apply for you, but you are not me. So, I do not want to put words in anyone else’s mouth. Besides, you may be the most important person to you, but what does that have to do with meMe is the topic of this little discussion, you go find your own blog to write about you! 

Okay, just kidding . . . well, maybe!

Now, I could name my wife or my daughters as the most important person in my life. And any and all of these would be true.

But, as a person of faith, I must confess the most important person in my life is Christ. Speaking of the me up above, I know the real me. I know the me before Christ transformed me. I know all to well the narcissistic tendencies and selfish passions. I know first hand what sin does to a person. It not only taints what I do, it infects who I am.

While I was at my worst, while I was in the darkest place of sin, Christ came and died for me. I remember my meeting with Christ very well. I was seventeen years old. It was 1992 and I was at an annual youth conference with my church. That night the evangelist preached about the children of Israel crossing the Jordan River and having to trust God to lead them. He told us how God was with Joshua and how he gave him strength to do his work.

It was that night, during the invitation that God convicted me (as he had done before) of my sin. The evangelist had placed at the altar three containers. In one were white pebbles, in the second gold pebbles and in the last, black pebbles. He told us the white pebbles represented that you were a Christian, living for the Lord. The gold pebbles represented that you were a Christian, but you were not living in obedience to God. The black pebbles meant you were not a Christian, you were lost in your sins. He then asked for every person in the sanctuary to come down to the front and pull a pebble from one of the buckets; a pebble that would accurately describe our spiritual state.

I had, for the most part, grown up in church. I knew the lingo. I knew the language and ideas. I knew the books of the Bible and several verses. I had even made a profession of faith when I was a child and had been baptized, but I really did not understand what I was doing.

That night, I knew, without doubt, I was not truly a believer, I was not truly a Christian. As I strolled down the aisle to those buckets, I was debating in my mind what to do. I knew I would not take a white pebble, I mean my hypocrisy knew some bounds! But, I did not want to take the black pebble either, I was not ready for that sort of honesty. So, I compromised. I decided to take a gold pebble. I thought, while a lie, it showed some humility!

When I returned to my seat in the pew, God’s conviction and love just poured over me. I knew I could not continue on as I had before. That night, with a couple of our counselors, I prayed and received Christ as my Lord and Savior.

What happened to me that night is what Jesus described to Nicodemus in John 3. He told Nicodemus that he had to be born again to have eternal life. That night at youth camp, I was born again. That night, in prayer, I confessed to God that I was a sinner, unable to redeem/save myself. I confessed I needed his grace and love to change my heart and life. I invited him into my heart to be my Lord and Savior and God. That night God forgave me of my sins. That night he came into my heart and life. That night I became a new person in Christ.

I wish I could say that ever since I have perfectly followed Christ. Of course, the truth is, I have not. But, he has been faithful to me.

The most important person in my life? No doubt, it is Christ. And the great thing about it is that he makes me appreciate and love those around me even more. Because now, I can love them with his love. I can cherish them as he has taught me.

As C. S. Lewis said, he does not just make me better, he makes me new! And that has made all the difference.

Jesus answered him (Nicodemus), “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God . . . For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life” (John 3. 3, 16)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 22, 2013 in Daily Prompt, Discipleship and Confession

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Christ: My All in All

  1. afsheenanjum

    December 22, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Good to read about Prophet Essa (a.s)

     

Leave a Reply

 
