RSS

Merry Christmas to One and All

25 Dec

Image

Photo by pedrojperez on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/25/prompt-best-day-ever/

You get to enjoy the best day ever — describe in detail what that means to you. Where are you? What will you do? What’s the weather like? What will you eat? Who will you see?

Well, since it is Christmas day, I will allow that to influence my response to this post. My best day is being with my family. No work. No obligations. No where to be. No schedule. No deadlines. Just a nice, quiet (well, maybe not so quiet!) day at home with my wife and girls.

This morning my four-year old daughter got up just before seven. She hit the floor going about 90 mph! She knew Santa had visited over the night. I had gotten up a few minutes before. So, I was up and waiting for the first stirrings this morning. I had to physically hold her back from entering the living room, so I could get my video going on my phone. I wanted to capture every reaction!

She is one of those people who show her amazement, surprise and joy with each and every gift. There are gasps and Wows! and Look! Look! It was not long after that her little sister and older sister rose from their slumber. Watching them looking at and playing with Santa’s deliveries and the gifts under the tree was all the Christmas I needed!

I know no greater joy than seeing them enjoying themselves. As a parent, it really does not get much better than that!

I pray each and every one of you have a very Merry Christmas and a happy holiday season.

I am so grateful to God for the gift of his Son, my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. With all the gifts and ham and here-to-theres, it is important for all believers to remember why we celebrate this day. The presents are nice. Being with family is a blessing. The food, as always, is great. But, the real reason for this holiday, the real meaning of Christmas is celebration of the birth of Messiah, of Jesus.

So, this Christmas, take time to thank God for the greatest gift of all. A gift not even Santa could top!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 25, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
