RSS

Practical Style and Personality

08 Jan

Image

Photo by mantasmagorical on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/daily-prompt-style-2/

Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.

I do not give much consideration to my style. I am not even sure I have a style in the first place. Having a style would seem to take a lot of work, effort and time; that, quite frankly, I could be spending doing something of more importance and of greater interest to me!

However, if I were to define it, I would have to say my style, in general, is what I would call causal. I tend to be a fairly mellow type of person. I don’t go to extremes in my moods and emotions; I am pretty even keel. I tend to take things as they come. I do not mind change. I do not have to have all the answers or everything planned out in advance. I can go with the flow and roll with the punches.

Style to me is something of a mosaic. It is shifty and changing. I do not care to have it well-defined or etched in stone. I want it free and elastic. Open-minded and willing to change.

As far as clothing, I like my clothes to be comfortable. I wear jeans quite often. I do not like sloppy clothes. I do not like wearing many sweatshirts or pants that are baggy and frumpy. I prefer things to fit appropriately. I like dress shirts and sweaters. I like my clothes to match; socks included. I cannot stand wearing mismatched socks, even if no one else sees them . . . I know they are mismatched!

I also have always enjoyed shopping for clothes, which has tended to annoy most of my other male friends! I have a couple who have sworn never to go shopping with me again! I am a deliberate and conscientious shopper. I tend to take my time and mull over the decisions several times before making a purchase.

As far as conversation, I strive to communicate. I try to make myself plain and understandable. I enjoy teaching and preaching and communicating truths and life lessons. I love to learn and study and then share those findings with others. I strive to be able to take complex ideas, simplify them and explain them in an easy-to-understand way.

As far as my hair, I have a ponytail the majority of the time. Sometimes I will wear it down, but usually it is up. I had one guy refer to me as the ponytail preacher! I like it! I think I will have some business cards printed and that will be my claim to fame!

My style is an extension of my personality. I am an introvert. I am a thinker. I am someone who puzzles and wonders and mulls things over and over. I tend to be of the quiet variety. I am an observer, a learner. I would rather observe and listen than to speak my own thoughts aloud. I do not need to have the last word. I do not need (nor will I willingly!) carry the conversation. I see more than I share. I evaluate and deduce more than I speak.

I am laid back and casual. This does not mean I am a blob or without ambition or drive or purpose. It simply means, while I may have some or all of those things, I count other things to be of a higher quality. Ambition, for instance, is not a be-all-end-all thing for me. Some may think this quaint or foolish; but, it is the way I see things. It does not mean I do not have plans or goals, but I take things in stride; I confess, ultimately, I am not in control.

Sometimes people will comment on my hair being long. Sometimes these people, especially other men it seems, will feel a compulsion to tell me they do not like the fact I have long hair. They think I should cut it and have it short. Now, with all the humility I can muster, I must say that I really do not give a rat’s behind what they think about my hair! In fact, I have told a few, Listen, I don’t tell you how to wear your hair, so don’t tell me how to wear mine!

I have a tendency to be a live and let live sort of guy. There are problems with this, there are weaknesses I confess. As a believer in Christ, I believe I am called to care for others. I believe I am called to consider their thoughts and how my actions may impact them. I am a work in progress!

But, like the Apostle Paul, I strive to be able to say, as much as it pertains to me, I strive to live peaceably with everyone. (paraphrase of Rom. 12.18)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Practical Style and Personality

  1. afsheenanjum

    January 8, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    do you also match your waist belt with shoes ? 🙂

     
    • Timothy Murray

      January 8, 2014 at 2:48 pm

      I do actually! I have a reversible leather belt: brown on one side and black on the other; it fits practically all styles and occasions!

       
      • afsheenanjum

        January 9, 2014 at 4:56 am

        that’s really great.. because i have seen so many men don’t match the waist belts with shoes.

         
      • Timothy Murray

        January 9, 2014 at 8:00 am

        Yes, I know what you mean!

         
      • afsheenanjum

        January 9, 2014 at 12:28 pm

        🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
