RSS

When it Comes to Clothing, My Size is Comfortable

20 Feb

Image

Photo by katmystiry on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/daily-prompt-new-sensation/

Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

My idea of stylin’ is being comfortable. Comfortable to me though could be many things. I am most comfortable in jeans. I have my nice jeans, which I wear out to dinner, shopping and church. Then, I have those jeans which I wear if I am working in the garden or on the car. Not all jeans are created equal!

Now, while many understand this important truth, there are those who simply do not. My uncle never did get it. He would want me to help him work on a car, or something that involved getting dirty. and I would tell him I would have to go home and change into another pair of jeans. He would look at me befuddled (which was not all that unusual!) and say, But Henry (this was the nickname he called me) you already have on a pair of jeans! I would calmly reply, Yes, I know, but these are my good jeans, I need to go put on a pair of work jeans. At this point he would always mutter something under his breath!

You see, to him, jeans were jeans. The same jeans he would wear fixing a car was the same pair he would wear to go eat (washed of course). He did not see the distinction in having different pairs of jeans for different situations. In his mind, one pair of jeans was as good as the next. I am afraid I was never able to enlighten him in this matter!

At the same time, I also feel comfortable in slacks, dress shirt and sports jacket, tie included. These types of clothes do not make me feel uncomfortable. I make sure when I buy any clothes, I buy them to be comfortable. I would just as soon dress nicely then go out with sweats or some loose-fitting athletic garb on. This annoys my wife from time to time. She doesn’t understand why I must dress up to run to Wal-Mart. I tell her I am not dressing up. I feel just as comfortable in nice clothes as I do in sweats. In fact, I hardly ever wear athletic clothing, except maybe around the house. I prefer not to look like a slob if I can help it.

I know some people who wear that stuff everywhere. It is as if that is all they have in their closet. I just don’t get it. Maybe I am being a fashion snob, but I just don’t like wearing such things out in public. Then again, I have been known to wear my house shoes to the market; so, I best not protest too much!

Fashion to me is being who you are. I dress to fit and match my personality. It is no real statement I am making . . . I am just being me. In the end, we probably make far more out of clothes and such than we should. They are a means to an end, to cover our nakedness when we are in public. We all have had the dream where we are standing in front of a crowd newborn naked! It is not a pleasant dream; unless you are a nudist perhaps.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2014 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “When it Comes to Clothing, My Size is Comfortable

Leave a Reply

 
