RSS

We Weren’t Lovers, Just Brave Strangers (B. Seger)

02 Mar

Image

Photo by Alvimann on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Well, I am back from my week plus hiatus! I thought a break would do me some good. Plus, my mood over the past few days has not been very conducive to writing. I was just informed by WordPress that this is my one year anniversary of starting this blog. I want to thank all of you who have read and commented over the past year. I pray there has been something of benefit here for you. 

There are several songs that bring back memories for me; not to mention smells, sounds and the like.

I won’t bore you with a long list of nostalgic tunes, but I will list a handful or so. The songs will be quite eclectic.

The first one I will mention is from Flash Cadillac and the Continental Kids called, Did You Boogie (with Your Baby)? This song came out in 1976, though for years I would have sworn it was from the fifties.

Why this song?

Many mornings, when I was in my early teens, my mother would play this song to wake me. At the time, I came to hate hearing this song blare from the speakers! It always seemed to come too early and too often! My mother still, to this day, will mention this song. It is not a song you hear often, but if and when I do, it brings back lazy weekday mornings and the urge just to crawl back under the covers and go to sleep.

Another song I would mention . . . really, I could mention any and every song by two musical artists; and, once again my mother is tied to the memory. One artist is the country group, the Oak Ridge Boys. I cannot tell you how many times, as a child, I listened to their albums. I think I knew practically all their songs by heart before I was ten! My mother used to be a big fan. She and a friend of hers would go see them in concert, and I’m sure, scream out every word from heart! I remember such Oak Ridge classics as: Elvira (replete with each and every Richard Sterban ah-um bop, and oom-pa-pa-oom-pa-pa-mau-mau!), Ozark Mountain Jubilee, American Made, Y’all Come Back Saloon, Bobbie Sue, Dream On, Come on In, I’m Settin’  Fancy Free, and I Guess it Never Hurts to Hurt Sometime. Of course, I could continue on and on and on. Oh, I forgot one of my faves, Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight.

The other artist is Bob Seger. I have written a few things about him over the past year of blogging. Again, I could list any number of his songs, having learned them all by heart as a child. Just to name a few: Against the Wind, Beautiful Loser, Night Moves, Turn the Page, Roll Me Away, Sunspot Baby, Old Time Rock-n-Roll, Hollywood Nights, Til It Shines, Famous Final Scene, Understanding, Like a Rock, We’ve Got Tonight. I also like some of his lesser known songs, when he was known as the Bob Seger System. Oh, and one of my faves, Brave Strangers. My mother was a big Seger fan, my grandmother seemed to like him too!, and we listened to him often. I have been blessed in the last eight or so years to have seen him in concert three or four times.

These songs remind me of my youth. I remember speeding down the road (figuratively and literally!) in my mother’s blue Firebird, with Seger blaring from the speakers; my mother driving and me sitting and singing along in the passenger seat.

Among others would be: the Eagles, Take it to the Limit; Poison, Every Rose has its Thorn; any music from the movie, Eddie and the Cruisers; the music of Les Mis and on I could go.

As far as my faith is concerned, Charles Wesley’s And Can it Be ranks up at the top for me.

Songs, music and lyrics, have a way of transporting back to days of our youth. Certain songs remind us of people, places and things. It is amazing how emotions can flood over you just by hearing a lyric or a bridge of music. Some of those memories are glad and some are not. But, they all come together to make us who we are.

What songs would you put on your list?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2014 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “We Weren’t Lovers, Just Brave Strangers (B. Seger)

  1. Beth Murray

    March 5, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I am glad that the music you were exposed to by me made an impression on you and hopefully, according to your blog they did make an impression. I’m sure you can still see my hand when Seger said “and my hand was shaking”!. I know now that I was probably nowhere near the free spirit that I wanted to be, so I released it all through the music that I loved. I quite naturally sang to the radio and hope you do now, I never was on key…..but, gracious the places I went to in that blue firebird, sometimes I can close my eyes and see it as if it were yesterday. Those times were magical.

     

Leave a Reply

 
