RSS

I’ve Got Friends in . . .

13 Mar

Image

Photo by xenia on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/prompt-something-so-strong/

Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends? What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

Friendship is important in life. I have never been one though who has had a lot of friends. No, I do not have a lot of enemies either! To the point, I cannot think of a single soul I would consider my enemy. I have always valued friendship, but I have never felt compelled to have a large number of friends. Or, at least, what I would consider to be close friends.

It may be a matter of semantics at this point. I know some people who count everyone they have ever met as a friend. Others, count as friends those they have been around with some regularity. Perhaps I have been more selective in who I call friend. It could be I have been too strict in this regard and actually have more friends than I realize.

I have often said that a person is an acquaintance of mine. I do not mean this as any slight against them. I do not mean by that they are unworthy of being my friend. All I mean by it is that I do not feel I know them well enough to count them as a friend. Neither, in such cases, do I think they should count me as a friend.

I think being an acquaintance is just fine. I mean, think about it for a moment. An acquaintance is someone you know well enough to speak to when you see him or her. He/She is someone you may even carry on a conversation with from time to time. But, it is not someone you are going to ask for a major favor: such as, helping you move or driving you to the airport. I remember the Seinfeld episode where Jerry met Keith Hernandez, who was dating Elaine. Jerry, being a New York guy, was enamored by Hernandez (he once played baseball for the Mets). Well, it goes along and Keith asks Jerry to help him move. Jerry at first agrees, but hen reconsiders. He thinks this is too much, too soon! He thinks their relationship is not quite to that level yet!

You see, in Jerry’s mind, he and Keith were acquaintances, perhaps moving toward friendship; but, they were not there yet. So, perhaps being an acquaintance, (if it gets you out of having to help a fellow move!), is not such a bad thing.

There are people whom you are friends with and you think they will be your friends forever. Then life brings about changes and those people are strangely gone . . . or, perhaps even stranger, you are gone. Then, there are people who you think will be a friend only in passing, a familiar acquaintance maybe, and those people become long and dear friends. Sometimes you just never know.

I do believe that God puts people in our lives to be our friends. Whether they become lifelong friends that grow and change with us through the years; or, if they are friends in the moments we need them. Not all friendships that grow apart are bad things. Sometimes it is God who brings us together and then it is time to say our farewells and move along. But, we will always cherish those times when we were together.

It seems to me, sometimes people force friendships. It is as if it is written somewhere that X and Y must be friends. And so, they put all their effort and time into making it work. They try their hardest to be and remain best of friends. But, something changes. The one or the other, or both, do not feel the same connection, the same spark they once did. Now, this could be so for many reasons, some of them negative. However, I do not think all friendships are made to last the test of time. It does not mean the two become enemies or hate one another. It just means that people change. Circumstances change. And, with those changes, friendships spark, endure or fade.

No matter, in the end it is good to have friends. It is good to have one or two or a handful. I do believe it is a gift from God. Those people who know you as well as anyone and still want to associate with you! Come to think of it, maybe this is why I have never had loads of friends!

Well, no matter how many you have, be grateful for them. Cherish your time together. Cherish what you mean to one another. Thank God for them. True friendships do not grow on trees after all. It is not easy to find. In many ways, it is a like a great treasure that is buried. The one who finds it, finds a treasure of great price and value.

As I have mentioned in several posts before, I am an introvert. I do not feel the need to have large numbers of friends, as I mentioned earlier. But, the friendships I do have, I appreciate them. Though, I must admit, sometimes I am one of those sorts who could be described as, out of sight, out of mind. This is not always an enduring quality when it comes to forging lasting relationships!

I am thankful for those friends, and acquaintances, God has given to me over the years. With some of these I still keep in touch. Others I rarely see or speak to any longer. And, still others, I have not seen or spoken to in many years. Yet, each made an indelible mark on my life.

I only hope they can say the same about me.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Daily Prompt, Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “I’ve Got Friends in . . .

Leave a Reply

 
