RSS

Any Sleep is Good to Me!

23 Mar

Image

Photo by jlpeterson on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/daily-prompt-mr-sandman/

What kind of sleeper are you? Do you drop off like a stone and awaken refreshed, or do you need pitch black and silence to drift off to dream?

My sleeping habits vary. It is not that I like them varied. It is one of life’s little jokes I suppose. There are some nights when I can sleep 8+ hours. Then, there are other nights I sleep 2-4 hours. Still other nights when I do not sleep at all. Insomnia is a beast. The longest I remember going without sleep was 48 hours. I stayed awake two full days and nights, unable to sleep. 

Normally, I am a heavy sleeper. Insomnia does not occur often, thankfully. I prefer nice dark and cold rooms. However, I have found that if I am tired enough, I can pretty much sleep anywhere. I can sleep with lights and TV on, a radio playing or people around talking.

The best sleep, I think, is when you are tired and you fall asleep without even realizing it. You awake at some point and think, I don’t even remember falling asleep!

Sometimes I also like to wake up a couple of times during the night. This is not always true. I often times like a good, hard sleep from start to finish. But, sometimes I do like waking up, just long enough to peek at the clock and go right back to sleep. Why? Well, I have found it seems to make the night last longer. Sometimes I will awaken, take a quick glance at the clock, expecting it to be within minutes of wake-up time, only to discover it is still early morning and I have hours yet to sleep. It gives the night the illusion of lasting longer than it actually does.

Now, of course, sometimes I awake and expect it to be early morning, only to discover it is a minute or two before the alarm goes off! I hate this!

I read somewhere once that if you awake, meaning wide awake, ready to get up, before the alarm sounds, it means you have had enough sleep. I do usually awake before it is time for me to get up. I tend to like to wake a few minutes early and just lie there for several minutes. It gives me a cushion of time to gather my thoughts and awaken fully. I hate having to jump up and get ready, all while being half-asleep still.

One of my peeves about all this is my wife has a tendency of putting something on the bedside table, thus blocking the clock from my view. In such times, I cannot just raise my head a little to see the time and then promptly go right back to sleep; rather, I must sit completely up and stretch my neck to see the time. Now, I know some may think, why not just forget the clock and go back to sleep? 

Well, this would probably be best . . . certainly, it would be less effort; but, (and there always seems to be a but!), I cannot do that. It is something of an obsession of mine. If I cannot see the clock, I feel as though the earth will tilt off its axis and go hurdling into space!

So, you see, I must see the clock for the survival of the human race!

I once read about a man who never slept. Not one single wink. Scientists came in to study the man, largely doubting his claims I’m sure. However, as they studied him over a period of time, they found he was telling the truth. The man literally never slept. His eyes never grew weary. His brain never throbbed with exhaustion. (If you suffer insomnia you know well about that last one!) He did not even own a bed!

Now, whether this was all factual or not, I do not know. But it is an amazing story!

I cannot imagine going two weeks, let alone a lifetime, without sleep. It seems humanly impossible. But, sometimes fact is stranger than fiction.

For the rest of us, rest and sleep are important. God gave us the observation of the seventh day to rest. It shows the importance of rest to us. Rest is important for us physically, mentally, emotionally and even spiritually.

When we are deprived sleep, strange things can happen.

I am thankful for my cozy bed and nice cold, dark room. I am thankful for those nights of good, long sleep. There is nothing so refreshing and peaceful as a good, hard sleep.

Besides, some people say I am easier to get along with when I am asleep!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 23, 2014 in Daily Prompt, Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Any Sleep is Good to Me!

Leave a Reply

 
