RSS

Opposites Attract!

29 Mar

file0002015175159

Photo by ronnieb on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/29/prompt-born/

Got a soul-mate and/or a best friend? What is it about that person that you love best? Describe them in great detail — leave no important quality out.

If words could capture the soul of a person, then I would write a million words of thee.

I have written on this topic in response to a past prompt. While I am not trying to be lazy and not write something new and original this morning, I also am not out to reinvent the wheel.

In fact, if you search through my posts (there is a search feature on my blog to help you with this, if you have never noticed it: it is just above the heading, Recent Posts) you will find I have written about my wife in several posts. If you put them all together you will get a fair picture of our relationship.

We are opposites in many (and I do mean many!) ways. She is an extrovert. Yes, I know, I know she needs prayer and psychological help! I, on the other hand, am an introvert. Yes, that’s right, I am one of the good guys! She is an emotional sort. I am not. She likes to have things well planned out and go by the script. I like to take it as it comes. She sees the trees and not the forest. I see the forest and not the trees. She has many friends. I do not.

On the Meyers-Briggs, my wife grades as an ESFJ. Maybe it is just me, but that combination seems to equate to an extraterrestrial! Well anywho, as you may suspect by now, mine is the exact opposite: INTP. Now, and I have touched upon this in another post, I often will grade as an INTJ. However, the last trait (Thinking, Perceiving) is very close. It is almost 50/50 when I have taken the evaluation. As I have studied the types, I have concluded the P is more true of me (at least the majority of the time) than the T. But, I could really go either way. Again, it is really a 50/50 split.

I guess there is truth to the old adage: opposites attract. Like magnets, our polarities attract one another to give strength to our weaknesses and balance to our extremes.

If you want to read more about all this, I will give the link where I discussed more about her. The post was titled, My Better Half . . .  No, Really!, and you can find it HERE.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2014 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Opposites Attract!

Leave a Reply

 
