RSS

Watch Out for that Tree!

31 Mar

Shattered tree in Mt. Rainier National Park

Photo by jppi on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/prompt-drives-me-crazy/

It makes me crazy when people wear their shoes in my house. What habit/act drives you crazy? How do you prevent it from happening?

There are many things that drive me crazy! It will be an almost impossible chore to pick the one thing, out of the many things, that drives me the craziest! Now, it could be the problem lies with me; but, as this would be a rather boring solution, at least in my eyes, we will assume the problem is with everyone else. After all, it is my blog and I am free to accept, or in this case, pass judgment along as I see fit! 

While much of the first paragraph was said in tongue-and-cheek fashion . . . much of it was not! Many of us view the world that way though. It is the other person who is weird or odd. It is that person, you know, the one over there, who is uncouth or lacks etiquette and decorum. It is Sally and Harry and Joe and Bev and all their ilk and kin who are moronic, tempestuous and out of hand. They are the problem. They are the ones who are annoying. They are the ones deserving of my eye-rolls and gasps of exasperation.

There is an old adage to the point: when you point the finger at another, you have three pointing back at yourself. Now, doubtless, sometimes they or he/she may indeed be the problem. It may very well be them that have the annoying habit or the patience-testing personality. However, in many cases, perhaps even many more, the problem often times is the person staring at me in the mirror.

Jesus said it this way: Do not attempt to remove the speck of splinter from your brother’s eye, before first removing the tree trunk from your own. Okay, I admit that is a bit of a loose translation, (your’s truly!), but it gets to the point. We are very good about noticing the shortcomings or failings in others. We are quick to recognize another person’s annoying traits and habits. But, when the scope is turned the other direction, all of a sudden the clarity is lost. The instrument becomes strangely out of focus. The precision is lost and becomes muddled with allowances, excuses and special circumstances!

It may be that Jesus’ wisdom touches on another truth; that is, we tend to pick out our own annoying habits in others! For instance, if we have a habit of chewing our food loudly, (here it is known as smacking), we may be quick to scold another for their less noticeable smack. If we are prone to gossip, we may chide Sister or Brother So-and-So, for his/her talk of public rumor once or twice. In other words, something we may do hundred times more or worse, we scold others who do it only a fraction of the time or amount.

I have heard it said that often times the people you find it hardest to get along, are the people most like you! It is as if there is only enough room for one of you! I am sure being around a person exactly like me, for a prolonged period of time, would probably be grounds for insanity! I mean, who wants that! If I want to be with some like me, I’ll just spend some time alone!

Yes, there are certain habits that annoy me. For that matter, I have habits that annoy myself! I wrote a post once on pet peeves; and trust me, I have several of them!

I suppose, if I have to choose one habit that irks me the most, at least this morning, it would be when people leave lights on in rooms they are not occupying. I am constantly walking through my house turning off a light left on by . . . well, let’s just say for the sake of diplomacy, other people who live in the same house. I’ll walk into the kitchen and the kitchen light will be blaring away. No, no one is in the kitchen. In fact, it may have been quite some time since a single soul stepped foot in the kitchen; but, the light is burning brightly just the same! I guess we feel as if the insects need light to move around in!

It has happened, more than once, that I will go home for lunch and find a bedroom or closet light on. Now, the house is empty. Everyone is at work or school; but, the light is on just the same.

To be fair, I am not a person who uses much light. If I am home alone, I often times will have little to no lights on at all. You see, I like darkness. Many people are afraid of it, even it seems in their own homes. I am not.

I like the peace and silence that darkness affords. It has a certain calmness to it . . . a stillness that is settling and soothing. I do not envision monsters and goblins lurking in the shadows; instead, I picture peace and tranquility being there.

Yes, I am a child of light. Yes, I understand that. I understand I serve the One who is the Light of the World. I understand he said that I, as his follower, am the light of the world also. But, that’s just it, isn’t it? I mean, the way I look at it, if I have the Light of the world inside me; if I am a reflection of that Light, then why do I need all the artificial variety?!

I suppose I am enough light for the darkness of my living room anyway! If you have the Eternal Light within, why make such a bother with incandescent light? I mean, that’s like comparing the ocean to a glass of water!

Well, perhaps I am exaggerating the point a bit, but I still think I have something of a point!

So, I guess the moral to this post, if there is one, is that no matter what habit you find to be the most annoying at any given time−allow for a measure of grace. For none of us are perfect and we all have those little habits and hang-ups that drive other people crazy!

Yet, I suppose this is part of the genius of it all. If it weren’t for our quirks and delightful imperfections, we would not be individuals. If we truly triumph individuality, then we must take all that goes with it. It is a lump sum.

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2014 in Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Watch Out for that Tree!

  1. Beth Murray

    April 1, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    So now I know why half your rooms need more light bulbs. Your bedroom seems to have one 40 watt bulb in it. With 3 children you would think the light would be brighter in order to see what they are doing! I am going to buy brighter light bulbs and install them when you are working in the garden.

     

Leave a Reply

 
