RSS

Out Past the Back Glass (A Poem)

03 Apr

Image

Photo by jade on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/prompt-back-door/

Look out your back window or door — describe what you see, as if you were trying to convey the scene to someone from another country or planet.

What do I see when I look out my back door?

But a world exploding to life and falling in death.

A world of colors−vibrant and electric,

Blooming and stirring; reaching for heaven’s breath.

 

What do I see out past my own back door?

But a world of creatures big and small.

A world teeming and crawling, moving and spreading,

A world unto themselves, one and all.

 

What do I see as I stare out the backdoor glass?

But a world on fire; spreading and consuming.

Ancient things lurk in the garden rows,

Infinitesimal beings−alive and stirring.

 

There are many things which I see,

As I look out my own backdoor.

Things easily and often overlooked,

But there, as they always were before.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2014 in Daily Prompt, Poetry and Creative Musings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Out Past the Back Glass (A Poem)

Leave a Reply

 
