RSS

Tangled Up in Blue . . .

07 Apr

IMG_0122

Photo by phunkymatt on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/daily-prompt-make-me-smile/

If you’re feeling blah, what is the one thing you do that you can count on to put a smile on your face?

This prompt reminded me of the old Phil Collins song, A Groovy Kind of Love, the particular lyrics that came to my mind were: when I’m feeling blue, all I have to do is take a look at you, then I’m not so blue.

Yes, I know it is rather sappy. Was I suppose to say romantic?

Well, either way, it captures the feelings of two people who are madly in love. Of course, in our day and age, love seemingly can be pretty fickle; or, at least, what we call love. Just look at all those happy-go-lucky celebrities and their many relationships, it is like a revolving door of different guys or gals or both! One minute, Leading Man A and Leading Lady B are madly in love, jumping up and down on someone’s sofa just to prove it; then, the next minute, they have their arms wrapped around some new beau or mistress.

If we judged the power and longevity of love based on what we see from these exalted mortals, we may soon conclude love is not all it is cracked up to be. I should not pick on celebrities though, after all, we lesser mortals exhibit the same tendencies and traits from time to time. And no, I am not only speaking of flirtatious and emotionally fickle teens, but adults as well. Some change loves about as often as they change their undergarments!

However, there is certainly a real love. There is a love that is lasting and true. And, thankfully, there are many who exemplify that love to us. There are couples who have been together, through thick and thin, narrow and wide, lean and plenty, and any other thing you would want to add, for years and are still as committed to one another as the first day they met.

So, you see, it is not just the stuff of fairy tales. It is not something that only happens in Once upon a time stories or Disney movies.

As for sappy Phil, I’m not sure what his relationship status is. Perhaps he is still crooning away to the lady that inspired him first to sing those groovy lyrics!

As for me, I could name a few things I guess. Yes, I love my wife. I love her as much now as I ever did. (Is this sappy or romantic, now I’m confused?!) And yes, she can still make me smile. Of course, she can also cause many other facial expressions as well!

As a father, my girls make me smile. Yes, there are times when I tire of hearing, Daddy, daddy, daddy, daddy, daddy, daddy . . . ad infinitum! But, more times than not, they always make me smile or laugh. One or the other, or many times both, are up to something that cause me some measure of joy. As I often tell them, you little girls are so silly.

Feeling blah or blue is something that happens to all of us I suppose. I would think it is natural even to the most up-beat, optimistic, positive-thinking chap or gal out there. Doubtless, some experience those times more than others.

I cannot speak for everyone, nor would I want to, but those moments of blah are not always such bad things. Obviously, depression and the like are serious issues. But, I think it does us all a little good to have some down time. I have found in my own life, it is in such times of blueness, or to use Dylan’s words, those times of being tangled up in blue, that I learn a great deal about myself and my life.

After all, we experience those times for different reasons. Sometimes we experience them because of a loss we have had. We sometimes experience them because our plans did not exactly work out. Or, it may be that we really are not sure why we are feeling the way we are at that moment.

I would distinguish between times of feeling blah or blue and times of depression or deep morose. I think God can, and does, teach us quite a bit when we are shaded in blue.

One thing God has reminded me of during such times, is that he is more than willing and ready to listen to what is bothering me. There are times I feel almost as if something is too silly or trifling to bother God with it. I know this is a silly thought itself, but it does happen. God reminds me that he is there, he knows what I’m feeling, he knows why I’m feeling that way (even when I may not be able to put my finger on it) and he is ready to lend his ear and support.

God also teaches me during these times that life is bigger than me. With all my well-thought out ideas and plans and schemes, life can simply overwhelm me. I do not have all the answers. I do not have it all figured out. I am not the master of my own domain. Only God meets any and all of these. I am reminded to trust more and more in him and his goodness and plan, and less in my own ingenuity and genius. I am reminded that Christ is my light and hope and life.

There are many things that can lift our spirits, to get us out of the doldrums. Some turn to their faith or family. Some look to a funny movie or a silly song. Some may simply take a break, a walk or read a book. Often times, all we really need is a little time and perspective.

It is like a bad taste we get in our mouths. Keep brushing and sooner or later it will go away.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2014 in Daily Prompt, Grace in the Everyday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Tangled Up in Blue . . .

  1. chantale jean baptiste

    April 10, 2014 at 11:54 am

    I like it

     
  2. chantale jean baptiste

    April 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Bingback: that make me smile|wandering poet

     

Leave a Reply

 
