RSS

It’s Too Messy to Clean Up!

23 Aug

chore1

Photo by pippalou on Morgue File.

Chores. Everyone loves them, right? Okay, probably not! I remember my “Chore List” hanging on the refrigerator as a kid.

Kids do not like chores because it is work. As a parent, I have found I do not like my kids chores, because it is work for me! I have to tell them to pick up, clean up, throw away, stop playing . . . etc.

This morning I had my two youngest daughters clean up their bedroom. Their bedroom typically looks like an EF5 has just bulldozed through the middle of it!

My four-year old daughter started pretty well, but I could tell after a few minutes her attention and stick-to-itiveness were greatly waning!

I told her to continue picking up her room and putting everything in its place. In exasperation she sighed and said, Daddy, I can’t, it’s too messy to clean up!

Later, after stalling for time, she came and asked me if she could take a break. I asked her if she had been cleaning her room like a good girl? She replied, No, but I still need a break!

I’m sure we have all felt a bit like this at one time or another.

I know I have spiritually.

Sometimes my life looks and feels to me to be one big, colossal mess! The Holy Spirit nudges me to clean up my act and, in exasperation I sigh, But God, it’s too messy to clean up!

You look around at the carnage and ask yourself, where do I possibly begin? Or, you set out doing well, picking up here and there, tidying up this and that and then you look around you and it seems everything just keeps multiplying! No matter how much you pick up, it seems the pile continues to get bigger and bigger!

Ever been there?

There now?

When my daughter felt this looming dread, I told her to focus on one toy at a time. She could not pick all of them up at once, but she could pick up one at a time. Then, little by little, the room would be clean.

God is gracious! Amen for that!

He does not bombard us with a thousand things to do all at once. He gently, graciously, yet firmly, admonishes us to clean up the room bit by bit.

Even more, he is willing and ready to come in as a “Professional Cleaner” and do all the heavy lifting for us! He will sweep the corners, pull out the bed and pick up the toys that have laid hidden under there for years. He will open the blinds and allow the sun to shine in the room. 

God is gracious!

He is not out to wreck us. We have done that for ourselves already.

He is not out to destroy us or to cause us unnecessary pain. Of course, he is the one who decides what is and is not necessary!

Jesus said:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Mt. 11.28-30)

Sometimes there is no way around it. The mess is there. And it is time for a good cleaning!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
