RSS

My Daughter Quoting Scripture . . . More or Less!

29 Aug

DSC06590(redo)

Photo by Dodgerton Skillhause on Morgue File.

Last night, as I sat zombie-like in front of my TV screen watching this year’s first batch of D1 college football, my four-year old daughter was at the kitchen table quoting some bible knowledge!

My wife, mother and two-year old daughter were at the table with her talking about various things. 

My four-year old decides she will drop a few scripture quotations on the ladies sitting idly at the table. When a say a few quotations I really mean one, since she kept repeating the same one over and over. As to which one she was quoting, well, no one really knows!

Here is what she said, several times over:

In God 17:17 it says, “The word is the truth!” In God 17:17 it says, “The word is the truth!” In God 17:17 it says, “The word is the truth!” In God 17:17 it says, “The word is the truth!”

I am not sure how many times she repeated herself, but it had to be twenty or more times.

Now where exactly one finds the book titled God in the bible, I am not altogether sure! Perhaps it is somewhere after Hezekiah and just before Joseph! 

But, wherever it is, apparently it has at least seventeen chapters in it!

She did not go on to expound on this profound verse . . . I know it has to be profound, because she repeated it so many times!

She threw no exegetical nuggets our way. No application. No practical life situations. Nothing. Only, the repetition of God 17:17 over and over and over again.

I suppose she thought the verse was adequate to speak for itself!

Why add to perfection?!

It reminds me of the Wednesday evening, when after bible study, I asked her what her teachers had taught her that evening. She replied, God. I said, Well, that’s good. But, what did they teach you about God?

To this she matter-of-factly answered, with a shrug of her shoulders, Everything!

I thought, Well, that makes my job as a father much easier!

So, I guess the moral to this story is this: if you ever find yourself in a cloud of doubt or feel the sting of temptation knocking at your door, just throw out a healthy dosage of God 17:17 against your adversary and proclaim with confidence and gusto (and several times in a row!), The word is the truth! 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2014 in Christian, daughters, Grace in the Everyday, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “My Daughter Quoting Scripture . . . More or Less!

  1. Heather B

    September 22, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    Absolutely precious! I love it! I was having a difficult day until I read your reference to God 17:17. LOL! Out of the mouths of babes. That would be such a “Thank you, Lord,” moment for me in parenting. Keep giving your little ones that “Word of truth!” We are doing everything we can to give our son the foundation he needs to succeed in his faith. I’ve been reading a brand new book by Dr. Tony Evans. It’s called “Raising Kingdom Kids: Giving Your Child a Living Faith.” He says, “It’s far easier to SHAPE A CHILD than to REPAIR AN ADULT. Raising kids who recognize and retain their identity as children of the King launches healthy adults who have the capacity to stand strong in their faith.” Equipping and guiding our children starts with us, parents! This is the most solid, thorough, inspirational and affirming parent book you’ll ever read! I love it and HIGHLY recommend it for all parents!

     
  2. leakforums down

    October 13, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Hello there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

     

Leave a Reply

 
