RSS

The Big 4-0!

16 Oct

happy-balloons

Photo by Prawny on Morgue File.

Yesterday (Oct. 15th) I turned the big 4-0! In many ways it is hard to believe I have hit this milestone. I remember when I was younger thinking 40 was over the hill!

But, as they say, 40 is the new 20! Of course the “they” who say that are all 40 or close to it!

Do I feel older? This is a question that is often asked any time a birthday comes around. No, I really do not. In fact, I feel about the same as I have for several years. In some ways, I feel that I am in as good (or maybe even better) shape than when I was 25. Then again, it may just be that I have forgotten how being 25 felt!

Physically speaking, I really feel no differently. I do not have any more aches and pains than I ever have. I can still pretty much do anything I have ever done. I do not have to take medication. I have had no major surgeries or accidents. So far, so good I guess.

My wife bought me a gag shirt to wear last night for my birthday bash. It read, Made in 1974 . . . All Original Parts!

The parts may be original, but they do have some miles on them now!

Thankfully, 40 is not as oooold as I once thought it was. If it was, I would have one foot squarely planted in the grave at this point!

If you go by the numbers, I guess I am at (or close to) mid-life at this point. There is something about getting older and one’s own mortality yawning before you. It is a long, deep gasp.

We will see what this new decade has in store. The last decade (my 30s) brought about lots of change. I moved a few times. I got married. We had two daughters. I lost two close, dear loved ones. I earned a graduate and a post-graduate degree. From the looks of it, I had better get busy if this decade is going to keep up with the last!

What does life have in store from here on out? I do not know. All I can do is trust God. It is the same everyday. Whether facing milestones or inch-stones . . . the call is to trust. God has proven himself worthy of my trust. He has proven himself worthy of my adoration and worship. It is not always easy. I so often want to yank the reigns away and do it my way.

But, God, who is rich in mercy and love, softly whispers, be strong and very courageous. He nudges me ever so much to trust him. He reminds me to listen to his voice and to follow as he leads. The last part of my 30s was a gigantic lesson in learning to trust God and living by faith. I am not saying I have learned all I need to know. I am not saying I have arrived. But, I have learned a great deal. And, I hope, I may have a break from the lesson; or, if nothing else, at least a breather!

As I start my decent down the proverbial hill (Ha!) I am grateful for many things. I am grateful for a loving Heavenly Father. I am grateful for a gracious Savior. I am grateful for an interceding Advocate. I am grateful for family and friends. I am grateful for ministry opportunities, whereby I am able to serve both God and his people. I am grateful for life and love and health.

We will see what the future holds. My call is to take it one step at a time. And all the while look to the One and trust him, who holds time and all else in his hands.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 16, 2014 in Christian, God, Grace in the Everyday, life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
