RSS

Thanksgiving Overload!

28 Nov

turkey

Photo by Seemann on Morgue File.

Well, we made it to Friday. We waded through globs of cranberry sauce, sweet potato casserole, chicken and dumplings and sweet tea. We stuffed our stuffer with stuffing. We gobbled up mounds of turkey. We mashed down potatoes, we creamed through corn, we stalked our way through a variety of beans, we rolled our way through piles of bread, we glazed our way through honey sweet ham and we sweet-talked our way through puddings, cakes, cookies and pies! 

Quite a gustational and linguistical accomplishment!

Like many others, I am sure, we had two Thanksgivings in one day. At noon, we celebrated the day with my wife’s family; then, at six last night, we celebrated with my family. Pardon the tired pun, but we were stuffed!

This morning I feel as though some diabolical surgeon slunk into my bedroom last night, applied anesthesia and then cut me open at the gut and put in a sizable weight, before stitching me back together! I must say, he was an excellent surgeon, he didn’t even leave a mark!

My step-daughter went out with some church friends last night for Black Friday, or is it now Black-ish Thursday?!, shopping and they decided just to make it an all night affair! Nothing like all night shopping on a full, robust gut!

Have you ever experienced sensory overload? Well, I have. In fact, I often experience several different sorts of overloads. Such as, conversational overload, people overload, light overload, noise overload . . . well, you get the point! But, you must remember, I am an incurable introvert (trust me, people have tried to heal me of this personality malady!), so, to cite a quotation from a fave movie of mine: so, I got that goin’ for me, which is nice!

(Extra points given . . . okay, okay, yes they are imaginary extra points, but extra points nonetheless if you can name the movie! Even extrier extra points if you can do so without the aid of Google! And yes, we work on the honor system here!)

So, this morning, I am feeling a bit of Thanksgiving overload. I’m all thanked out! Well, no not really. You see, I don’t feel the overload from an excessive amount of giving thanks, even on Thanksgiving I do not do that enough; but rather, an overload from the festival of Thanksgiving: primarily speaking, the feast!

Of course, this overload will recede throughout the day and, before I realize it, I will once again be hamming it up with honey-cured ham and gobbling my weight in turkey! Again, pardon the pun, but I am a glutton for, shall I say, gustational punishment!

In the aftermath of Thanksgiving, be sure to continue to offer thanks. Be thankful for the food and the many left-over meals to come! Pray for those who had little to nothing to eat yesterday, or the day before, or the day before that. Be charitable. Give to the Lord and to those in need.

Determine in your heart not to be the like the nine lepers who received healing through the mercy of Christ, but did not return to offer thanks. Instead, be like the one: the one who was truly thankful for what he had received from our Lord.

On the way to Jerusalem he was passing along between Samaria and Galilee. And as he entered a village, he was met by ten lepers, who stood at a distance and lifted up their voices, saying, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us.” When he saw them he said to them,“Go and show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went they were cleansed. Then one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, praising God with a loud voice;and he fell on his face at Jesus’ feet, giving him thanks. Now he was a Samaritan. Then Jesus answered, “Were not ten cleansed? Where are the nine? Was no one found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” And he said to him, “Rise and go your way; your faith has made you well.” (Lk. 17.11-19, ESV)

It reminds me of the new DirecTV commercials with Rob Lowe. You know the ones, where it’s normal, stylish, suave, sophisticated, handsome (yes, I am deducing this from the context of the commerical!) Rob Lowe who obviously has DirecTV and then a, well, shall we say, less desirable Rob Lowe who is unfortunate enough to have cable!

At the end of each commercial, Lowe says something to the effect of (speaking of his less than desirable alter-ego), Don’t me like this me, get rid of cable and upgrade to DirecTV.

Thus, don’t be like those lepers, who failed to give thanks, who were more consumed with the thing God gave them than God himself. Rather, be like the thankful leper, the one who was moved to worship God in response to God’s goodness toward him.

It is so very easy to become obsessed with the its in life instead of the One who shows his goodness and grace towards us.

Even today, as the overload holds sway, be grateful to God, for he is good and worthy of our praise!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in Grace in the Everyday, Holidays, Luke

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
