RSS

The Princess and the Big Bad Wolf (Short Fiction by my Four-Year Old Daughter!)

28 Nov

wolves

Photo by hotblack on Morgue File.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/leftovers-sandwich/

Today, publish a post based on unused material from a previous piece –a paragraph you nixed, a link you didn’t include, a photo you decided not to use. Let your leftovers shine!

My four-year old daughter, about whom I have written several times before, wanted me to type a story for her. She wanted me to type the story she told me. She said, I’ve never wrote a story before!

So, here it is, I guess we could call it The Princess and the Big Bad Wolf.

Once upon a time, there was a beautiful princess. And the princess was walking through the woods and she just walked through the woods every day. Then she saw the big bad wolf. And the big bad wolf said, “Hello princess”. And the princess said, “Hello big bad wolf, are you coming to the woods today?” The big bad wolf went chasing after her and she cried, “Help, help someone help me!” And then a woodcutter came and snapped the big bad wolf’s head.

And no one saw that big bad wolf again!

***This episode occurred several months ago. It has been in my drafts since. I had honestly forgotten about it, until I saw the daily prompt for today and thought, why not?

I wrote another post on the big, bad wolf which you can read HERE. It has been one of my more popular postings.

My daughters are obsessed with the Big, Bad Wolf. Almost every night, as we get ready for bed, we have a ready routine: prayers, a Jesus story and a Big, Bad Wolf story or two or three . . . .

My youngest has gotten in the habit, in the last month or two, of making sure the house is secure any time someone enters or leaves. As soon as the door is shut, she hurries over to the door and locks it! Now, we generally keep our doors locked anyway, just for the safety of it; but, she has taken it to a new level!

The other night I went to take out the trash, as I went to reenter the house I found myself locked out!

If you ask my two-year why she does such things, she will tell you to keep the Big, Bad Wolf out!

Yes, we have reasoned with her on many occasions that the baddy wolf is not real, but I don’t think she believes us!

It reminds me of something G. K. Chesterton once said, Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist. Children already know that dragons exist. Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed.

And, apparently, that the dragons, or in this case the wolf, can be locked out! Fortunately, our house is made of bricks, so she doesn’t have to worry about any huffing and puffing!

In my daughter’s story above, you will notice she felt the compulsion to kill off the wolf. By the way, have you ever noticed how incredibly violent most of the fairy tales are?! And, coincidentally, how many contain wolves as the antagonist?!

The moral of the story for them, I suppose, is the baddy must be killed. No idea of reformation. No hint of he’s just misunderstood. No thought of maybe he just needs a timeout! No, death is what comes to mind! (Of course, in the context of these stories the wolf is obviously the bad guy.)

I guess we could say, in the confines of the stories, it is a wolf eat wolf world!

Better to eat than to be eaten! Or, so says the majority of carnivores surveyed! The others, couldn’t answer the question, their mouths were too full!

Even a two-year and four-year old know that the monsters are real that lurk in this world. No, they may not be werewolves and dragons; but, as Chesterton reminds us, they are real nonetheless. And monsters, if the fairy tales teach us anything, must be destroyed.

And while we may not necessarily vanquish them with literal swords and spears (but you never know!), we can vanquish them through love, honesty, goodness and virtue. Yes, it may sound cliche, but that does not make it any less true.

As a Christ-follower, I am called to imitate the One I serve, the One who has saved me from the clutches of the monsters. I am to be light in the darkness and salt in the bland, often times seemingly, banality of life. I am to offer a cup of water to the thirsty, a meal to the hungry, clothes to the naked and visit the infirmed or the imprisoned (Mt. 25,40-45). I am to do it all in the name of Christ (Col. 3.17). And with each act of kindness, with each act of Christlikeness, more and more, I bring the tyranny of the god of this world (2 Cor. 4.4) to an inevitable and fateful end!

So, watch out for those wild wolves and if you do encounter one, pray there is a woodcutter around!

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in daughters, Grace in the Everyday, Short Fiction

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Princess and the Big Bad Wolf (Short Fiction by my Four-Year Old Daughter!)

  1. writenlive

    November 28, 2014 at 11:03 am

    For a four year old to narrate the story is quite a feat.
    Yes, I have noticed how our fairy tales advocate violence and reinforce many other stereotypes that in other cases, we would avoid exposing our children to.

     
  2. granonine

    November 28, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Even in the Bible, false teachers are described as wolves in sheep’s clothing. Yes, the wolf has a bad rep!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      November 28, 2014 at 11:22 am

      Very true! I once owned 2 wolf hybrids, but that was before my daughters!

       
  3. Louise

    November 28, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    I absolutely adore the G. K. Chesterton quote – I’d never heard it before, so thank you.

    Love your daughter’s story! I’ve often thought about free-blogging my 5-year-old when she is creating stories – it’s fascinating to see how their minds spin, work and create!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      November 29, 2014 at 7:27 am

      Yes, Chesterton was a masterful wordsmith, much like Lewis and others . . . it must be a British thing!

       

Leave a Reply

 
