RSS

On Crashed Hard Drives, Death and Resurrection . . .

18 Jun

Photo by Mike73 on Morgue File.

Life happens . . . or so they say. Last weekend my HDD (i.e. hard drive) on my laptop decided to konk out on me. I may be mistaken, but I think the technical jargon for such an event is konk out!

No, it is not a national crisis or a world catastrophe by any stretch, but it has caused no small inconvenience to me. It is not that I had any data on there of any great importance; but, i did have data on there that I would rather not lose.

After many hours of scouring the internet for valuable info on the matter . . . scouring the internet for valuable information does sound a bit oxymoronic to me at the moment . . . I have discovered there is a big difference between a corrupted HDD and a konked out HDD. Mine fits, as I previously mentioned, in the latter camp. Mine is DOA, konked out, good-bye sweetheart, farewell, bon voyage, see you in the funny papers, don’t let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya, toodles, I’ll be seeing you in the funny papers, arrivederci . . . well, you get the point!

I’m sure there is a way to extract the data at a recovery site. The only problem with that seems to be the few thousands of dollars it costs to do it. No, my data is not quite that important, even to me.

I will give it a few more shots before I condemn it as a lost cause, but I fear I am only rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic, if you know what I mean.

On top of my technological difficulties, I am also suffering through, (as everyone else in my neck of the woods) a very dry and hot spell. Most days, when middle to late afternoon arrives, I feel as though I, like my HDD, am on the verge of a systems crash! All my energy and want-to-ness bleeds out of me faster than my sweat.

In addition, (yes, there is more!), I was having some chest pains a couple of nights ago. I began to fear a heart attack. So, once again, I jumped on the ever reliable world-wide-web and did some research. I found out that the risk of heart attack for men increases once they turn 40. I was 40 my last birthday. I found that if one is having a heart attack the pain may be felt in the left side of the chest. I was experiencing pain in my left side. (Of course, the same article said the pain may also be felt in the middle of the chest or the right side of the chest, or in some cases, there may be no pain at all!).

I began to question myself if I had shortness of breath? I did not. I personally inquired if I felt a restrictive pressure in my chest (the article said many said it felt akin to an elephant sitting on their chest . . . I’m not sure how they would know how this would feel, but I digress!)? I did not.

After some self evaluation, I finally concluded that the culprit was a sore or pulled muscle. But, there for a while I thought I was about to konk out myself!

My HDD has died. My energy dies in the heat of a southern summer. I was fearful that I was going to die myself. The fact is death happens. It happens to hard drives, automobiles, animals, plants and people. As the computer tech sagely advised me, Sometimes hard drives just dieJust die? I am not altogether comfortable with the just part of that. I want a logical explanation. I want to see and deduce cause and effect. I want a valid reason.

Alas, I am still waiting such an explanation concerning my HDD.

In life, sometimes people die. We all do. When our loved ones die they take with them things, pieces of us, of our history and selves that we will never be able to recover.

I am grateful for God’s love. A love that I am utterly undeserving to experience. A love that I so often take for granted. A love that is unconditional, unconquerable, unlimited, boundless, spectacular, amazing and infinite.

I am thankful that Christ is the resurrection and the life. I am thankful that as a Christ-follower I know that death does not have the last word. Death where is your sting? Grave, where is your victory? Christ has suffered its sting on my behalf. Christ has met its challenge and has arisen the Victor Eternal!

And because he lives, so do I . . . and I will do so just as he does: eternally, gloriously and sinlessly!

Amen and Amen!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 18, 2015 in Grace in the Everyday

 

One response to “On Crashed Hard Drives, Death and Resurrection . . .

  1. bhuwansharma007

    June 30, 2015 at 3:57 am

    amazing website for tech

     

Leave a Reply

 
