RSS

Time Aboard the TARDIS!

01 Feb

Photo by earl53 on Morgue File.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-bird-a-plane-you/

You get to choose one superpower. Pick one of these, and explain your choice:

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

I have recently, something to my wife’s chagrin, become a fan of Doctor Who. Of course, I had heard of the show before, but had never watched any episode in all these years. I just assumed it was one of those quirky British shows (which, of course, it is!) and left it at that.

But, it seems that quirky and me have some sort of unspoken relationship; and, this becomes all the more true, or at least clear to me, as I get older.

I caught some of the reruns during the Christmas holiday on BBC America. I was flipping aimlessly through the channels and happened upon a Doctor Who episode. I paused and thought, do I want to give this a go? Maybe, I thought, it won’t be so bad.

And so, I did. And I have been watching it ever since!

I mean, what’s not to like, right?! You have the TARDIS, the traveling companions, the Sonic Screwdriver (or shades), the quirkiness of the Doctor himself, a built in knock-knock joke (Stop me if you’ve heard this one . . . ) and all kinds of strange creatures all rolled up into one fan-tastic show!

I am not here to quibble over which Doctor is the best Doctor . . . after all, they are all the Doctor! I have watched several shows showcasing different incarnations, and I like something of all of them. I have not, as yet, watched any episodes from the older series, but that will come, ahem, in time!

So fly on Doctor. I look forward to many more grand adventures and battles with Daleks, Cybermen and weeping angels.

I am thoroughly enjoying being a traveling companion of the Doctor’s and keeping him company in all his universe-saving adventures!

After all, in some way, we are all traversing through time, hopping along between our own Gallifrey and Trenzalore!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 1, 2016 in Daily Post, Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
