RSS

The Theology of Water Leaks

16 Apr

Photo by trestletech on Morgue File.

Drips are incessant. They are nerve-rackingly persistent. They are methodical. Whether it be a leak from a kitchen sink, hitting the stainless steel bowl beneath it; or, a leak from the roof bouncing from the ceiling onto the floor, leaks are a nuisance and an irritant.

Why am I talking about leaks, you may wonder? Well, because I had a leak recently. Right by my desk, as I was trying to concentrate on some work, there was one of these mind-numbing, patience-testing, incessant-irritables only a foot away.

SpalunkSpalunk! Spalunk!

The floor is concrete. It is amazing how one little drip, when it hits a concrete floor, spreads out and sprays a two-foot circle. One small drop, one little drip leaves a wide effect.

Drips shout to you, Houston, you have a problem! This is probably going to cost a small fortune to repair! You had better be quick about seeing to me, else next rain, I may tear a huge hole in your roof!

Nothing, it would seem, positive comes to mind when a leak rears its ugly, nagging droplet.

There are times when the Holy Spirit is like a dripping faucet or a leaking roof. There are times when he moves in our lives in certain ways as to be noticed. In these times, it is impossible to ignore him and what he is saying to us.

Like that drip that keeps on sounding out its monotonous drone, the Holy Spirit points, prods and pokes in our lives. He finds that one tender spot and continues to poke it . . . over and over and over again.

He has a way of getting our attention!

Like the leaky roof, the Holy Spirit says to us, unless you deal with this, it will get out of hand and before you know it, it will be running rampant.

Typically, this poking work of the Spirit is in relation to sin that hides in our hearts. And he is quick to point it out and continue to do so, if we try to ignore him. He is relentless and undeterred by our attempts to throw him off the chase. You know, singing a good Christian hymn or reading a verse or two in the Bible, thinking this will distract him. He is not phased by our trying to fill our minds with thoughts, any thoughts whatsoever, except the thought he is shouting at us to have. He keeps right on poking, right on nudging, right on searching (see Ps. 139. 1).

So, try and ignore him if you must. Try and pretend he isn’t there. He isn’t speaking. Try every distraction at your disposal; but what you will find, is that you will wear out long before he does!

 O LORD, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it. Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you. For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I would count them, they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you. Oh that you would slay the wicked, O God! O men of blood, depart from me! They speak against you with malicious intent; your enemies take your name in vain. Do I not hate those who hate you, O LORD? And do I not loathe those who rise up against you? I hate them with complete hatred; I count them my enemies. Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting! (Psalm 139 ESV)

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
