RSS

The Gray Zone

19 Jun

Image

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/daily-prompt-tagline/

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

I suppose, if I have to choose only one, my tagline would be something like this: Black and white is too boring, I prefer gray.

I tend to see the world, not so much through the lenses of black or white; but rather, through the lens of gray.  This is not to say I don’t believe there are some things that are black or white . . . I do.  However, I tend to see less of that than some others do.

As a Christian, I certainly believe the Bible teaches there are definite black and white issues.  I also believe the Bible, purposely, leaves many other things in that gray area.

I know many people prefer a yes or no, a black or white type of answer.  I am not really one of those sorts of people.

There is no doubt this is a result of my personality type.  I have discussed this a bit before in a previous blog post.  I know some people do not give much credence to personality types, but I have found it extremely helpful in my own life.  In fact, I am fascinated by the different types and how they interact with things and with other people.

I am an INTP.  (Though I usually grade out as an INTJ.)  When you read into an INTP type personality you find we are more likely to see things in tones of grey, rather than strictly black or white.  INTP’s are very open and willing (and capable) of looking at problems, opinions and the like from different points of view.

INTP’s, typically, are not a judgmental group.  We tend to be more open and accepting.  This is not to say we have an anything goes policy; but, we are willing to consider other points of view and allow people to be themselves.

There are some, what may be considered, weaknesses with this personality type.  Since we are prone to reason and consideration and seeing things from a multifaceted view, we can come across as indecisive.  In fact, sometimes we are indecisive.  It is not because we are unwilling to make a decision and run with it; it is that we want to make sure we have considered all the possibilities. And here is the rub, because an INTP can see many possibilities in any given circumstance.

Of course, this has its advantages as well.  INTP’s are able to readily think outside the box and approach problems from an angle that others may not even consider.  Hand in hand with this, we tend to be flexible and willing to try different things.  If and Y failed, well then, let’s give Z a shot.

In summation, I believe this would be an apt tagline for me.  Maybe I could make it catchier, like, You have entered the Gray Zone!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “The Gray Zone

  1. bluebeadpublications

    June 19, 2013 at 10:46 am

    A Thousand Shades of Gray

     
  2. snosler

    June 24, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    I wish I had more gray in my world – seems everything’s black or white … easy or hard … crazy or simple … ugghhh I was a little late in adding my two cents to this topic – but had to finally jump in. Cheers!

     
    • Timothy Murray

      June 24, 2013 at 4:22 pm

      Thanks, Snosler, feel free to comment anytime.

       

Leave a comment