RSS

Glorious Imperfections!

12 Dec

Image

Photo by blondieb38 on Morgue File

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/daily-prompt-my-precious/

Who is the person in your life who can do no wrong? Describe this person and tell us why you hold them in such high esteem.

My own, my precious . . . excuse me, I just had a Gollum moment! Based on the prompt, I am sure all my family and friends that read this will do so with bated breath to see if I name them as my Do-No Wrong Person!

So, who shall it be, out of the innumerable host of family, friends, acquaintances, heroes, mentors, celebrities, philanthropists, saints, devils, charlatans, miscreants, angels . . . oh, sorry, I got carried away!

Of course, the answer to this prompt is a very simple one: NOT A SOUL!

Well, that was no fun, was it?

The simple truth is, no matter how much I may love, esteem and cherish a person, no one, and I mean no one, is going to meet my approval 100% of the time. I do not even get that honor!

Of course, I am thinking of mortals.

I could be romantic and say my dear and lovely wife. But, who am I kidding, if you are married or have been married, you know spouses do not bat a 1000%. Do not misunderstand me, my wife is beautiful and amazing. But, as romantic as I may wish to be, she is not perfect. Neither am I.

The truth is we all let each other down from time to time. Husbands disappoint wives. Parents let down their children. Mentors show themselves to be fallible. Clergy are only human.

If we look to another person to satisfy this, we will always be disappointed. It is a burden no one should be asked to shoulder. Even the most well-intentioned amongst us cannot do it flawlessly.

Some may score higher than others, but no one will be perfect. Inevitably, even your greatest confidant or most loved lover, will let you down. It is, I am afraid, in our nature to do so.

Of course, there is a release in understanding this. You do not have to be perfect. You do not have to be spot on 24/7.

The greatest accolade I, or anyone for that matter, could give another is not that they are perfect in our eyes; rather, that even in their imperfections, we love and cherish them.

That is how I need to be accepted, because if perfection is the standard or some fairy tale existence is the goal . . . I am out of luck!

So, we love and commune in all our glorious imperfections. We talk and laugh and eat, rubbing elbow to elbow with our shortcomings and failures. We share our hopes and dreams with others who have failed and lost, on more than one occasion.

This is why it is romantic and beautiful . . . not because it is perfect; I dare say perfection would ruin the whole thing! But, because in those glorious imperfections we take up the slack in others and they in turn build us up; and, as a consequence, we find a higher love.

It is a spark of the divine, for God has so loved us, in all our mess and imperfections; yet, he has set out to make us new!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Glorious Imperfections!

  1. GodGirl

    December 12, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    I love this post! I think it’s in our nature to put people on pedestals because deep down we want unconditional love and crave perfection. Thankfully God meets those needs abundantly. I agree – it is unhealthy to expect people to match our ideals. It sure takes the pressure off others when we have God in our lives!

     

Leave a comment